Kashmiri-Style Kidney Beans with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
First I omitted the salt and the oil due to dietary restrictions. I used a bit of water in place of the oil. I added a couple grinds of fresh melenge pepper in place of the salt. I also used regular garam masala because I didn't have any Kashmiri garam masala and added it in the last few minutes of cooking. It was wonderful with the changes and would prob be wonderful with no changes. It is extremely flavorful and the blend of spices is perfect. You won't miss salt at all in this dish if you choose to omit it. It has the sweet savory taste of a good Indian dish with the turnips adding a nice sweetness to the dish. No one will know they are turnips unless you tell them. I was asked what they were because they were 'so good'. I served on a bed of Saffron rice. It was a perfect compliment to this. I would suggest a bed of rice to accompany this dish. Use your favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very very tasty. Easy to make, turnips were really delicious. Was looking for a recipe that utilized them as I had some from my CSA. You can serve with a starch or not, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
A very tasty, flavorful recipe. I love the addition of the cumin and fennel seeds (yes, they are pricey, but they are a must in the dish. Ground cumin will not work. And, you'll probably find yourself adding the seeds into other dishes. They create a nice zip to salads.) I usually add 1/2 lb of ground beef to make it a heartier meal especially during the cold winter months or if I am too lazy to make rice, but the vegetarian version is also nice. I think turnips are an underused vegetable and this recipe uses them to maximum advantage. I like how the turnips start to absorb the tomato mixture flavor. My only problem is that I usually have some water leftover in the pot. The liquid doesn't create a real sauce, so I usually drain the mixture before serving. Overall, great dish. It won't appeal to all taste buds, but we certainly enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is an awesome, delicious dish - don't let the unconventional main ingredients turn you off. Nobody I served this to guessed that it had turnips, and it looked beautiful with all the colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
When I was a kid, I used to pick kidney beans out of my mom's otherwise outstanding chili. This is not a kidney bean dish, it's fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Great recipe! I had no idea what to do with my turnips from my weekly bag of CSA veggies, but I love Indian (and similar) food, so I tried this recipe. I'm glad I did! The recipe was easy, took about 20 minutes start to finish, and the flavor was wonderful. I agree that the fennel seeds are crucial to the flavor. I normally don't like turnips, but the spices covered (or mellowed?) the sharpness/bitterness of the turnips, and I scarfed them down with no problem (as did the kids, who just said that the "potatoes" were a little weird)! The sauce is a little watery, but we served it over rice, and the rice soaked up a lot of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
The flavor is unique and delicious. This recipe provides a nice change of pace, and we will definitely make it again and again. We might try adding some carrots or some lamb, as the base seems infinitely adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
loved this been awhile since i had a five star meal!love the use of turnip i have always liked it but was stuck for ways to use it.i mashed the red kidney beans to make then more easily digestable.but other then that i didn't change a thing.thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was SO tasty. It is a perfect blend of flavors like none other! Reading other reviews, I let the steam evaporate almost all of the liquid but hub (not knowing that I did that on purpose) said it would be better if it had more liquid to go over the rice. I used 1 c. stewed tomatoes as I didn't have fresh. Next time, I'll try using the whole can. This was just wonderful. It was a blend of spices that we don't use often enough so it had a very unique, fantastic flavor to us. A true keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great introduction to CSA turnips! Thank you, Allrecipes :) The sauce is easy and definitely useful for other foods as well - tempeh, chicken, or shrimp with bell pepper would be nice - but it was so fun to make something that sounded wierd and tasted so good!. I did drain off most of the turnip cooking liquid after reading other reviews, so the sauce was just right to go over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States