Kashmiri-Style Kidney Beans with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Whoops I forgot to put the finishing touch of Garam Masala...I put cilantro on though! It was sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Loved it. I agree with the reviewer who added anchovy to the dish. I used anchovy paste (less messy) I tasted the dish and felt it was missing something so I added lemon juice and fresh coriander chopped right before serving. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HULAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was very good. I have to admit that, although I love Indian food, I don't make it often. I didn't have all of the spices. I didn't have fennel or garam masala. I made garam masala but I didn't have cardamom so it was not perfect but it was good. I think next time I would add a little more fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Really enjoyed this dish! We received turnips in our CSA basket, and husband was reluctant to eat them, so I looked for a recipe that would spice up turnips. This was great & we will certainly repeat! I did sub canned tomatoes in the recipe, because I didn't have any fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i've made many different curries before, and this, flavor-wise is one of the best. instead of salt, i added 2 chopped anchovies for a little more savoriness. i also used the turnip greens (chopped) and carrots (grated), throwing them in after the diced turnips had steamed for 3 minutes. LOVE. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAUBELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Use broth instead of water. A little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I didn't have Kashmiri garam masala on hand, never even heard of it, perhaps it was the one ingredient that would have made it a 5 star recipe for me. All the spices and textures came together quite well. If we keep eating like this, I'll have to change my screen name to to 4mynotsochubbyhubby! Very good eatin'. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I loved this! This was my first turnip recipe, and now I'm hooked. I've made this four or five times, first as written and then with variations. Today I made a double recipe with 2 turnips, 4 carrots, a large potato, and 1 can of kidney beans. Because my tomatoes were very juicy, I drained off some of the cooking water (from the turnips) before combining. At any rate, this has been a 5 star recipe every time I've made it. I do think I like it better with carrots than without, but it is fabulous either way. Even my 2-year-old devours this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Fantastic smell! This is wonderful tasting dish was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Very simple side dish that goes with almost anything! I had it with some tandoori chicken and a vegetable saffron pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aielena

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States