Kashmiri Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe. I prepare a lot of different Indian dishes and this was a huge hit with my family and dinner guests. I served with Spicey Eggplant from this site, some Naan bread and a tomato,cucumber, onion salad. Huge hit! Thank you for the recipe. I used the slow cooker directions provided in the editor's notes. I didn't brown the lamb, just threw it in the slow cooker with the sauce. Will prepare again and again! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent curry. It was so flavorful and rich. The tumeric needs adding in step one (I didn't see it mentioned in the recipe directions) As Doughgirl8 suggested, I put the saffron into the yoghurt to allow it to fully mix through. I followed the recipe through step 4 and put it in the slow cooker for 6 hours on medium. The family loved it! We had never tried curry from this region before...A+! Thank you to "The Gnome"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I thought that the saffron flavor would be overwhelmingly strong, but it wasn't. Very unique flavor - simply delicious, and fairly easy to make. I would make the following minor changes: 1. I would cut the lamb to smaller pieces so that they are bite sized. Cooking lamb for that long makes it slightly tough, and so it's just easier to not have to cut it further. 2. We like things a bit spicier, so we would suggest adding a bit more Black Pepper or Garam Masala. Great recipe! As someone mentioned, this is very "restaurant-styled" dish - perfect for an evening with guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noor Lamba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I put one chile pepper in and regretted it- I think next time I will make it as the recipe-( I am a bit allergic to chillies !!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
It was hot. Didn't have dried red chilies so I substituted 1 tsp red chili flakes. Somehow I added 1 tsp Tandoori Masala. Since I used a slow cooker I didn't add the yogurt until the last hour. Wish I knew what type of green chilies that they used. Mine was hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Excellent dish! Rich gravy with perfect balance of meat to sauce. Highly recommend! Added turmeric to spice purée although where to add it was not in instructions. Used cubed veal and ground beef instead of lamb so it could only get better!!! Kiddos wouldn't be able to handle the heat, so I left out chiles and it was still fragrant and flavorful! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have tried hundreds of different curry recipes, and I have to say that this is one of the very best, if not the VERY best. This is an AMAZING recipe! I discovered it a few weeks ago and have already made it a dozen times. I never thought I would be able to duplicate the flavor of restaurant style dishes, but this one is definitely very close! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Hello, love it to bits. Will cook it again this week:-) Could say, it is just. Who needs an indian take away ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My husband and I made this for dinner tonight and we LOVED it! I used ground lamb instead of cubed because it was on sale and the substitution was fantastic. Be sure and add enough salt to bring out all of the beautiful Indian spices. This is going in my recipe box... and I am a very discriminating recipe box collector!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisauce
Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made the curry with eggs! Just added boiled in the end....Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States