Kashmiri Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made this with venison instead of lamb. I cubed a bottom round and marinated overnight in apple cider vinegar, olive oil, and Garam Masala. I browned the venison in coconut oil before resuming with the recipe as written. It was absolutely amazing! I don't eat rice, so I served it over cauli-rice that was roasted in a Chat Masala infused coconut oil. Paired nicely. Served with fresh lime wedges, and chopped cilantro. Dinner guests were absolutely blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Saffron is expensive and difficult to find. I didn't use it. Next time I'm going to add some potatoes. Great taste and flavor. Perfect with white rice and Nan Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Acosta
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Used leftover lamb roast that we thought was a bit too plain. This recipe was delicious and not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Acosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
My husband kept raving about how delicious this meal was. He insisted on having lamb for Easter dinner, and since I'm not a big lamb fan, I decided on a recipe where the lamb flavor wouldn't be overly obvious. I'll probably make this every Easter now. I used serrano peppers as jwala peppers aren't sold here, and I substituted safflower for saffron, because of the cost. Also, my blender wouldn't cooperate in creating the paste of step 1, so I had to add a little oil for the blender to form the paste. Made as written otherwise. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe. I prepare a lot of different Indian dishes and this was a huge hit with my family and dinner guests. I served with Spicey Eggplant from this site, some Naan bread and a tomato,cucumber, onion salad. Huge hit! Thank you for the recipe. I used the slow cooker directions provided in the editor's notes. I didn't brown the lamb, just threw it in the slow cooker with the sauce. Will prepare again and again! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent curry. It was so flavorful and rich. The tumeric needs adding in step one (I didn't see it mentioned in the recipe directions) As Doughgirl8 suggested, I put the saffron into the yoghurt to allow it to fully mix through. I followed the recipe through step 4 and put it in the slow cooker for 6 hours on medium. The family loved it! We had never tried curry from this region before...A+! Thank you to "The Gnome"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I thought that the saffron flavor would be overwhelmingly strong, but it wasn't. Very unique flavor - simply delicious, and fairly easy to make. I would make the following minor changes: 1. I would cut the lamb to smaller pieces so that they are bite sized. Cooking lamb for that long makes it slightly tough, and so it's just easier to not have to cut it further. 2. We like things a bit spicier, so we would suggest adding a bit more Black Pepper or Garam Masala. Great recipe! As someone mentioned, this is very "restaurant-styled" dish - perfect for an evening with guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noor Lamba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I put one chile pepper in and regretted it- I think next time I will make it as the recipe-( I am a bit allergic to chillies !!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
It was hot. Didn't have dried red chilies so I substituted 1 tsp red chili flakes. Somehow I added 1 tsp Tandoori Masala. Since I used a slow cooker I didn't add the yogurt until the last hour. Wish I knew what type of green chilies that they used. Mine was hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Excellent dish! Rich gravy with perfect balance of meat to sauce. Highly recommend! Added turmeric to spice purée although where to add it was not in instructions. Used cubed veal and ground beef instead of lamb so it could only get better!!! Kiddos wouldn't be able to handle the heat, so I left out chiles and it was still fragrant and flavorful! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States