Kasha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holly Berry
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was delicious. For those not familiar with bulgur, it's very similar to rice and can be cooked in the same way. Like rice, you'll want to simmer the bulgur until all the water has evaporated and you're left with a sort of "al dente" texture to the bulgur. Let it sit for a few minutes to cool then stir or "fluff" it up before mixing with the beef/vegetable mixture. I used 2 cups water, 2 beef boullion cubes, 1 onion bullion cube and 1 cup bulgur and it turned out perfectly, not mushy or soupy. The recipe called for 1 cup chopped fresh tomato (bulgur is mostly used for tabouli, a salad which uses fresh finely chopped veggies). I, however, used a well drained can of diced tomato/green chile since this was a ground beef recipe and I didn't happen to have a tomato anyway. I also drained the pan of beef/veggies and let it sit for a few minutes before mixing it with the bulgur. I didn't overcook the diced celery and left it a bit fresh/crispy, omitted the green onion and while it was cooking I seasoned the ground beef with garlic salt, celery salt, Adobo, cayenne pepper, black pepper and a splash of worcestershire. I also sprinkled some cayenne on my finished Kasha for color and kick. One last tip and trust me on this: Let the finished Kasha sit for 10 minutes before eating; it will sort of set up and taste better. Enjoy and try some tabouli next; it's also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is definitely a different taste than I am accustomed to, but it was wonderful. It's a really welcome change from our normal routine. I also added some paprika to give it some more kick. I actually attempted this recipe with my mother-in-law.... and if she gives it the green light... it must be good!! Thanks. In the recipe box it goes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very filling! A bit bland... I didn't have beef broth or tomato, so added a can of diced tomatoes, water, and a beef bullion cube. The broth would have made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This dish doesn't have eye appeal and it doesn't have any real seasonings added, but don't let that fool you. It really has quite a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This was great! And easy enough for a college kid to make... a nice change from ramen noodles haha. I used this recipe for a group meeting night and it went over really well, i added a little more pepper b/c im a big fan of spicy foods, and it didnt overpower the overall outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Oh MY GOODNESS! What a pleasant surprise of tremendous flavor! My hubby and I are always looking for a new healthy dish and we both loved it. I did not have any bulger cracked wheat on hand, but I did have some whole wheat in our food storage. I took one cup of whole wheat, and 2 C water and just blended it in the blender for 2-3 min and it made the perfect cracked wheat texture. Just pour from blender to stovetop, add some beef bullion and it is enough water to cook the wheat perfectly. The other adjustment I made was to use 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies (Drain well) instead of fresh. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
very easy to make, and a nice change to the regular rice or pasta routine. For the broth, I used the broth cube, disolved into 2 cups of boiling water. Tastes delicious. My husband and kids loved it. I would suggest however, to add some tomato paste to enrich it a little bit. And next time, I also will probably fry the meat in either some butter or olive oil, for added flavor and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I'm giving it 5 stars because it's really good! Easy to make, too, because I used green onions and celery that I had previously chopped and dehydrated. The only change was that I used chipotle pepper because it's the only hot pepper I had. I made it a second time, using some leftover cooked rice 1 beef bouillon cube and the small amount of liquid I had drained from the diced tomatoes. (I didn't add the 2 cups beef broth because the rice was already cooked) Still really good. This recipe is not only delicious, but versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Super simple, and YUMMM!! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
While this had the right ingredients, it lacked the spices and the bulgur was still in quite a bit of liquid (which I tried to drain) and the meat mixture had too much liquid from the liquid that comes with the dice tomatoes (which the recipe didn't say to pour off). I tried fixing the taste later with some black pepper and more cayenne pepper and that helped a little but still only improved this to a three star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States