Kasha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
this was amazing. I make something very similiar to this that is middle eastern and I prefer yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
very easy to make, and a nice change to the regular rice or pasta routine. For the broth, I used the broth cube, disolved into 2 cups of boiling water. Tastes delicious. My husband and kids loved it. I would suggest however, to add some tomato paste to enrich it a little bit. And next time, I also will probably fry the meat in either some butter or olive oil, for added flavor and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I really liked this recipe, but made a coupple of changes. I added some lemon juice to the meat(I used ground lamb), as well as some dried mint flakes, pine nuts, and kibbeh seasoning. By the way I never cook my burghul, I let it soak for about 30 min., drain it through a fine sieve, then press it to extract all the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Berry
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was delicious. For those not familiar with bulgur, it's very similar to rice and can be cooked in the same way. Like rice, you'll want to simmer the bulgur until all the water has evaporated and you're left with a sort of "al dente" texture to the bulgur. Let it sit for a few minutes to cool then stir or "fluff" it up before mixing with the beef/vegetable mixture. I used 2 cups water, 2 beef boullion cubes, 1 onion bullion cube and 1 cup bulgur and it turned out perfectly, not mushy or soupy. The recipe called for 1 cup chopped fresh tomato (bulgur is mostly used for tabouli, a salad which uses fresh finely chopped veggies). I, however, used a well drained can of diced tomato/green chile since this was a ground beef recipe and I didn't happen to have a tomato anyway. I also drained the pan of beef/veggies and let it sit for a few minutes before mixing it with the bulgur. I didn't overcook the diced celery and left it a bit fresh/crispy, omitted the green onion and while it was cooking I seasoned the ground beef with garlic salt, celery salt, Adobo, cayenne pepper, black pepper and a splash of worcestershire. I also sprinkled some cayenne on my finished Kasha for color and kick. One last tip and trust me on this: Let the finished Kasha sit for 10 minutes before eating; it will sort of set up and taste better. Enjoy and try some tabouli next; it's also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
While this had the right ingredients, it lacked the spices and the bulgur was still in quite a bit of liquid (which I tried to drain) and the meat mixture had too much liquid from the liquid that comes with the dice tomatoes (which the recipe didn't say to pour off). I tried fixing the taste later with some black pepper and more cayenne pepper and that helped a little but still only improved this to a three star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is definitely a different taste than I am accustomed to, but it was wonderful. It's a really welcome change from our normal routine. I also added some paprika to give it some more kick. I actually attempted this recipe with my mother-in-law.... and if she gives it the green light... it must be good!! Thanks. In the recipe box it goes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I probably won't make this again. My husband said it was ok, my daughter wouldn't eat it and I thought it was dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This was really good! I didn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This was great! And easy enough for a college kid to make... a nice change from ramen noodles haha. I used this recipe for a group meeting night and it went over really well, i added a little more pepper b/c im a big fan of spicy foods, and it didnt overpower the overall outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This came out great! I wasn't quite sure what I was going to end up wish as I had never tried kasha or anything like it before... but I'm a big fan! Definitely adding this one to the recipe box! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States