Kasha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is delicious. I used buckwheat groats instead of cracked wheat and added a little Worcestershire sauce. We all thought it tasted like a healthy meatloaf. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe has become part of our regular rotation for ground beef. Of course, it's impossible for me to make anything exactly as posted, so my changes are as follows. I use Kashi brand pilaf, which I make with 2 cups beef broth, fry out the ground beef with onions, celery, and green pepper (not too much), add a drained can of Ro-Tel tomatoes with chilies and a teaspoon of cumin and salt, and combine the Kashi and the ground beef mixture and simmer for 5-10 minutes together. True, its appearance is nothing to write home about, but it does taste good, and it's super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Dorothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Despite the unappealing appearance, this is really good. Add diced tomatoes and chilies instead of fresh tomatoes for a little more zip. Wonderful, easy, and economical comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dunsworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very filling! A bit bland... I didn't have beef broth or tomato, so added a can of diced tomatoes, water, and a beef bullion cube. The broth would have made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Love the veggies in the kasha! I've typically had kasha with sauteed onions only, but I love the texture of the celery, onions and tomatoes cooked with the kasha. I served the kasha with baked tilapia and it was a quick and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Super simple, and YUMMM!! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This dish doesn't have eye appeal and it doesn't have any real seasonings added, but don't let that fool you. It really has quite a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I'm giving it 5 stars because it's really good! Easy to make, too, because I used green onions and celery that I had previously chopped and dehydrated. The only change was that I used chipotle pepper because it's the only hot pepper I had. I made it a second time, using some leftover cooked rice 1 beef bouillon cube and the small amount of liquid I had drained from the diced tomatoes. (I didn't add the 2 cups beef broth because the rice was already cooked) Still really good. This recipe is not only delicious, but versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Wow! This was great. I made it for a Russian themed dinner and everyone loved it! Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jairus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Oh MY GOODNESS! What a pleasant surprise of tremendous flavor! My hubby and I are always looking for a new healthy dish and we both loved it. I did not have any bulger cracked wheat on hand, but I did have some whole wheat in our food storage. I took one cup of whole wheat, and 2 C water and just blended it in the blender for 2-3 min and it made the perfect cracked wheat texture. Just pour from blender to stovetop, add some beef bullion and it is enough water to cook the wheat perfectly. The other adjustment I made was to use 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies (Drain well) instead of fresh. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States