Kasha and Bowties (Kasha Varnishkas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent basic recipe! Traditionally, the onion is sauteed in chicken fat, but being vegetarian, I use EVOO like the recipe called for. Instead of chicken broth, I use a strong mushroom broth, and then toss a dozen sliced creminis in with the onions to sautee. Don't be shy with your broth and fat in this dish - it's where most of the flavor comes from. One note on the instructions: The way I was taught, you dry-roast the kasha in a hot pan for a few minutes, then bring water/broth to a boil BEFORE adding the kasha. This way it doesn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I love to add an extra veggie like broccoli or something colorful... Otherwise this is just as I have made all of my life!!! Perfection, along with heathful!!! Kasha, or buckwheat, is a complete protein!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyMalcovich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was my first experience with Kasha and I loved it! A very hearty and healthy dish. I used just one onion and added a can of mushrooms. Added a splash of dry white wine to the cooking onions and mushrooms. Used veggie broth instead of chicken. Tossed in some parsley. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
In my Eastern European home this dish is tops; especially when served with a slow roasted chicken. I add a drained can of mushrooms to this recipe...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy Homemaker
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
As a child of Ukrainian heritage, I grew up with kasha. And hated it. With a passion. As an adult I figured I'd give it another go, as it is so good for you. This recipe made me want to eat more. :) I substituted water for the chicken broth, as I'm vegetarian, and used blood orange olive oil. What a yummy dinner! I had two helpings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yum! I didn't have a can of broth, so I used 1 3/4 c. broth from the box. 12 ounces of the pasta seemed like a bit too much; I cooked it all but probably only used 10 or 11 ounces. Saved a dish by sauteeing the onion in the same pot as I cooked the kasha in then mixing it all in that pot. Also added broccoli steamed in the microwave to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I wrote this recipe and please note it was edited slightly prior to submitting. I don't know why they did that. I toast the kasha with egg in the pan first, then add the liquid (usually chicken broth or water with bouillon), cover for around 5-9 minutes and it's done. I NEVER DRAIN my kasha. This recipe is just a matter of preparing everything separate and tossing together. When in doubt, follow manufacture instructions. (hint)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morganville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is my first experience with Kasha and it was very tasty. I sauteed the kasha in a hot pan for 2-3 minutes before cooking (based on another eview's remark to keep it from getting mushy) I also used Swanson's Vegetarian Vegetable broth and whole wheat fusilli instead of egg bow ties. It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy, yummy! My parents thought it had potential but was too bland, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
A great recipe, very easy if the family likes their kasha drier, like my DH does reduce the amount of broth by a smige or saute it longer by the way my DH said it was 90% like his grandmothers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Trinity, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States