Kas' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Hubs hurt my feelings tonight. In between mouthfuls of chili he said, "This is the best chili you've ever made." Hmf! MY chili, I thought, was the best! I made a few changes, all of them minor, but the one big change I HAD to make was to add more tomato sauce. I made 1/2 the recipe and, using the amount of tomatoes and tomato sauce called for, I had something that almost resembled the consistency of a casserole! So for this 1/2 recipe I had to add 4 more cups of tomato sauce (used my own, which I had put up from my garden). I would call this quite a discrepancy! Even accepting that individual preferences dictate how thick or thin chili should be, until I "fixed" this it was something you could have eaten with a fork! I can't offer my own review of this, since I am not a fan of chili in the first place, so I would probably not like it no matter what. But hubs said he loved it, said it was "4 star and darn near a 5." For the 1/2 recipe I used the full can of black beans rather than a half can - and I certainly wouldn't call it too "beany." I used more fresh garlic than called for and left out the garlic powder. Finally, I had orange, yellow and red peppers on hand, so used them rather than the green pepper. I thought the addition of rosemary unusual - I could really taste it and didn't like it, personally. I don't think it belongs in chili. But hubs even had a second big bowl of this and instructed me, enthusiastically, to make it again. Looks like "my" chili is history.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I needed an additional 15oz can of tomato sauce and also added some Franks Red Hot. Hubby loved it, so all is good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Remove bay leaf b4 serving. Add more liquid. Skip the rosemary. Included something spicy. Otherwise, a good, basic chili. I followed the recipe as written, w/ the exception of browning the meat w/ the onions, bell peppers, and 3 minced garlic cloves. Also, the consistency in the crock pot was like mega-chunky-pasta-sauce, so I upgraded the 8 oz. can tomato sauce to a 15 oz., as well as an additional 1/2 can of water. I couldn't help but omit the rosemary though, I'm sorry Kas, but I couldn't bring myself to put rosemary in chili. Otherwise, all the other spices and herbs remained in the ratio written. Served our's w/ additional cilantro, green onion, cheese, and fritos, but everyone at the table was grabbing for Sriracha, Texas Pete, and jalapenos to add some oomph. I think this chili's leftovers would be good for festooning a baked potato or a hot dog, and I think I'd be happy to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
We really enjoy this nice, thick and chunky chili. The first time I made it, I made as written. It was delicious, but we wanted some "heat". When I made it a second time, I added hot chili beans and a diced jalapeƱo. The peppers and diced tomatoes add a great texture to this chili. An added bonus is that this freezes and reheats really well. A dish that will be repeated often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made recipe as is except I decreased kidney beans by one can. Added extra tomato sauce due to dry not enough liquid. Add 1 poblano pepper. I didn't have any rosemary so didn't add. Very good recipe makes A LOT of chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by kkelly
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was awesome, my husband who does not like chili actually really liked it. The only change I made to the recipe was to put in 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of one and this, just because of previous reviews knowing that it would be in the oven all afternoon and I wouldn't be able to check on it. I left out the cilantro, I really don't like it in anything... I made it in the oven because the recipe was too much for my slow cooker, 250 for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a good mild chili. We tend to like things a little spicier, but still enjoyed it. I used fire roasted crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes (my husband doesn't like the texture of diced) and ground turkey instead of beef (it's what I had on hand). I also drained and rinsed the black beans. I browned the meat, drained off the fat, and then threw everything together in the slow cooker. I did high for 30 minutes and then low for 5 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was my first attempt at making chili, and after browsing through several recipe's I settled on this one; based primarily on the ingredients and the fact that it was a "slow cooker" version. Well it turned out great! Thick and flavorful. My personal spin on the recipe included no rosemary, smoked paprika instead of regular, carne picada instead of ground beef and I added 1 pepper from a can of La Costena brand, chipotle in adobo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Just left out green peppers. Added a little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States