Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this for the first time for my In-Laws 50th wedding anniversary. I 4x the recipe and made a huge pot. People were lined up out the door enjoying it. The best by far and i'm from Maryland. This is a must try. Thanks Karyn for submitting something so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe! I doubled the sherry and halved the Old Bay and the wife loved this! It is good enough that a second batch is being made tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shib671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
After living in Deep Southern Maryland for 32 years, I don't consider myself a "native" but I've definitely eaten a LOT of bowls of Cream of Crab soup. Over the years I've probably tried a dozen different recipes and only one or two ever compared to the good "native" (lived in MD for at least 3 generations) bowls served in locally owned family restaurants... Until now. My husband said, "Now THAT is something special!!". Normally I wouldn't dare change a recipe the first time I prepared it. I know it's a "St Mary's County thang" to begin by sautéing in butter one medium onion and two stalks of celery finely chopped, so I stuck to the Mother County roots. Then using a whisk I added the flour and Hollandaise mix to the butter and veggies and continued sautéing for a couple of minutes (made a roux- didn't want to taste raw flour). Then I added the half n half and continued following original directions. She's right- REAL MD Cream of Crab has tons of Old Bay. If you can't handle it, use less. Fantastic recipe!! Thank you!! (In summer, I'll prob add some fresh sweet white corn but that's the NC in me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Spectacular! I used fat-free half and half and it was still creamy, rich and delicious! Thanks, Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I am always looking for a recipe that really stands out from others..........this soup is to die for!!!!! I followed the recipe but also added some chopped celery and green onion. I needed to get my veggies in! I used about 2 tablespoons of old bay and the soup was just spicy enough for me. I will serve this at many dinner parties in the future. Many Thanks Karyn!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family and I LOVE this! I don't use as much old bay but otherwise follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theodore M Connor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This recipe was one of the tastiest cream of crab soup recipes I have ever tried and sooooo easy to do!! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kia mckinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
ABSOLUTELY DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Besides cutting the Old Bay in half, I made this recipe as written. It's the BOMB!!! I made it for my family to try before Thanksgiving Dinner. Rave reviews by all. I can't wait to make it again for just my wife and I so we have more to enjoy. Excellent recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I'm from Maryland and our wedding theme was "Love, Honor and Old Bay," so I love the stuff -- but even I had to say this is WAY too much! But other than that, this is awesome Cream of Crab, better than most restaurant versions (and we've had it everywhere). Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States