Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
We just got back to our northern home town from a visit to Grandma in coastal Virginia. My daughter had she crab soup every time we went out, so we searched the internet for recipes when we got home so that we could occasionally have this at home. This was the version we chose to try first, and we were very glad we did, because it will be our "go-to" for the future. The resulting soup was comparable to the best of the restaurant versions in both favor and consistency, and we did not really change much at all. I added a half a cup of water with a fish bouillon cube dissolved in it just to give the flour mixture a bit of seafood flavor and used two tablespoons of Old Bay in stead of three. We all liked it that way, but would have liked it the original way as well. The Hollandaise Mix is the stroke of genius that separates this recipe from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandman5756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dadscook2
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dadscook2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this for dinner tonight and it is everything it promises - delicious.I am from the eastern shore of Maryland and I have had some of the best crab soups made but this is by far the best....didn't change a thing but added 2 cups cubed boiled potatoes...I will be passing this recipe on as one of my favorites and will be making it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Good but 3 tablespoons of old bay is too much for me half was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this for the first time for my In-Laws 50th wedding anniversary. I 4x the recipe and made a huge pot. People were lined up out the door enjoying it. The best by far and i'm from Maryland. This is a must try. Thanks Karyn for submitting something so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe! I doubled the sherry and halved the Old Bay and the wife loved this! It is good enough that a second batch is being made tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shib671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
After living in Deep Southern Maryland for 32 years, I don't consider myself a "native" but I've definitely eaten a LOT of bowls of Cream of Crab soup. Over the years I've probably tried a dozen different recipes and only one or two ever compared to the good "native" (lived in MD for at least 3 generations) bowls served in locally owned family restaurants... Until now. My husband said, "Now THAT is something special!!". Normally I wouldn't dare change a recipe the first time I prepared it. I know it's a "St Mary's County thang" to begin by sautéing in butter one medium onion and two stalks of celery finely chopped, so I stuck to the Mother County roots. Then using a whisk I added the flour and Hollandaise mix to the butter and veggies and continued sautéing for a couple of minutes (made a roux- didn't want to taste raw flour). Then I added the half n half and continued following original directions. She's right- REAL MD Cream of Crab has tons of Old Bay. If you can't handle it, use less. Fantastic recipe!! Thank you!! (In summer, I'll prob add some fresh sweet white corn but that's the NC in me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Spectacular! I used fat-free half and half and it was still creamy, rich and delicious! Thanks, Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I am always looking for a recipe that really stands out from others..........this soup is to die for!!!!! I followed the recipe but also added some chopped celery and green onion. I needed to get my veggies in! I used about 2 tablespoons of old bay and the soup was just spicy enough for me. I will serve this at many dinner parties in the future. Many Thanks Karyn!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family and I LOVE this! I don't use as much old bay but otherwise follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theodore M Connor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States