Kartoffel Kloesse (Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Danni
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
My Oma always made these, we called them Oma Balls, she used bacon and I was happy to find the recipe and add the bacon.....Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
They tasted great! I let the potatoes cool off completely before I mixed up the batch. I omitted the nutmeg and added some onions instead. The flavor was great when I poured on my pork/wine gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
A hit with our dinner club for German night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodsGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My family loved these. Put in more salt and garlic powder and they are scrumpteous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I read prior reviews before making this. I did not use nutmeg and I used italian bread crumbs. My son who HATES potatoes LOVED these!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elba, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
these were wonderful. We liked the instant boxed kind with our sauerbraten but, these were so much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I found this recipe 2 years ago on AllRecipes and my family loves them! I make exactly as the recipe reads every year at Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
OMG. I had these at a party...they are the BEST potato dumplings I have ever had. Was told to beat the potatoes until completely smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I grew up on a variation of this. Boil potatoes, cool, peel, salt, pepper, nutmeg. Cut potatoes and cube onions. Put through grinder on rough setting adding onion pieces. Add seasoning as you grind. When done mix with eggs and flour. THEN make snowball size balls. Boil a little longer after they rise. One layer per bowl. Best with sauer braten but also good with rouladen though I cheat and add vinegar to my part of the gravy. About two large yellow onions worth of onions. No bread or crumbs. Just grind pieces as you grind the potatoes turning bowl as it comes out of the grinder to dispurse evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
i just got done making a batch of these and my wife and family liked them gotta find a german meat dish to go with it. I am going to make a bunch of them for the next family holiday gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States