Kartoffel Kloesse (Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
If you leave the potato dough in the fridge overnight after mashing it makes it much easier to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I live in Germany and the proper spelling of these would be Kartoffel Klöss, I would omit the nutmeg and add bacon bits instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My very German family has been making a ariation of this recipe for years. We add the onion to the potatoes, do not use nutmeg and only butter browned bread crumbs on top. This variation was good although we prefer the recipe my grandmother brought from generations in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I found these easy to make and faster than I expected. My first batch didn't hold together well, but I found adding another egg white fixed it. These were a very big hit, especially with my son's darling girlfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
They tasted great! I let the potatoes cool off completely before I mixed up the batch. I omitted the nutmeg and added some onions instead. The flavor was great when I poured on my pork/wine gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I grew up on a variation of this. Boil potatoes, cool, peel, salt, pepper, nutmeg. Cut potatoes and cube onions. Put through grinder on rough setting adding onion pieces. Add seasoning as you grind. When done mix with eggs and flour. THEN make snowball size balls. Boil a little longer after they rise. One layer per bowl. Best with sauer braten but also good with rouladen though I cheat and add vinegar to my part of the gravy. About two large yellow onions worth of onions. No bread or crumbs. Just grind pieces as you grind the potatoes turning bowl as it comes out of the grinder to dispurse evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danni
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
My Oma always made these, we called them Oma Balls, she used bacon and I was happy to find the recipe and add the bacon.....Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
these were wonderful. We liked the instant boxed kind with our sauerbraten but, these were so much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
These took much longer than I had anticipated in making. (Shamefully, I was used to the boxed version and did not expect such a messy dough!) I had to add an incredible amount of flour to be able to work with it at all. I used Sauerbraten gravy over them, not the recommended gravy. My husband liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I was given a recipe for Kartoffel Kloss by my mother-in-law who received it from her mother-in-law. I have lost the receipe so I have used this one with some variations. Works great with the Sauerbrauten! Still looking for my original German receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States