Kartoffel Kloesse (Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
My Oma always used to make these too and we all loved them as kids. These dumplings were wonderful but the only change I made was replacing the nutmeg with garlic and onion powders. So good SlimCooking and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
OMG. I had these at a party...they are the BEST potato dumplings I have ever had. Was told to beat the potatoes until completely smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danni
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
My Oma always made these, we called them Oma Balls, she used bacon and I was happy to find the recipe and add the bacon.....Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I found this recipe 2 years ago on AllRecipes and my family loves them! I make exactly as the recipe reads every year at Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
They tasted great! I let the potatoes cool off completely before I mixed up the batch. I omitted the nutmeg and added some onions instead. The flavor was great when I poured on my pork/wine gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I was given a recipe for Kartoffel Kloss by my mother-in-law who received it from her mother-in-law. I have lost the receipe so I have used this one with some variations. Works great with the Sauerbrauten! Still looking for my original German receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
It's a good inexpensive thing to cook, but if you follow the recipe straight, you better hope you like a lot of butter and onion flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
these were wonderful. We liked the instant boxed kind with our sauerbraten but, these were so much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I read prior reviews before making this. I did not use nutmeg and I used italian bread crumbs. My son who HATES potatoes LOVED these!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elba, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My very German family has been making a ariation of this recipe for years. We add the onion to the potatoes, do not use nutmeg and only butter browned bread crumbs on top. This variation was good although we prefer the recipe my grandmother brought from generations in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States