Karjalan Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Exactly like I remember them from Finland. I have been looking for this recipe sine my one and only visit in 1989. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This recipe is just like the recipe I got from a mummu (old Finnish grandma) who showed me how to make them before I left the country. She of course made them without a recipe, and I roughly tried to copy it down into a recipe, and it came out pretty much like this. FYI, there are two types of rye flour: course (or regular) rye flour and fine rye flour. Use the course flour for this since you'll be mixing wheat flour in with it. Also, you'll end up putting about the same amount of wheat flour in as rye flour, so you don't have to do it one tablespoon at a time, you can almost double it at first and then add slowly until the texture is right. You can also add egg white to the butter to brush on top, and you can also brush them again while they're oven if you want them super golden brown and soft, but it's hardly necessary. For the rice, try to use sushi or short grain rice, but if you can't find it, I think Thai Jasmine rice is the next best. Also, these are best with whole milk and real butter. Finns usually serve these by spreading butter on top, followed by some type of cheese (usually Edam). It's very common to eat them with ham, and you can really put on whatever you want (tomato, lettuce, etc.). A lot of work, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have two Finnish daughters in law and first tasted these delicious pies in Levi in Northern Finland. We used to eat them warm with chopped hard boiled egg mixed with melted butter on top.I was thrilled to find this recipe and made them with very good results. I used sushi rice and a pasta machine to get the required thickness for the dough.One of my daughters in law is staying with me in Australia and she enjoyed the little taste of home. I made mine a little smaller than Sarah's and boy, are they filling. No ski slopes here to work them off ! Thanks Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Mine weren't pretty, and due to the grocery store being out of rye flour and me being impatient, I used plain white flour. But it tastes great! I put a slice of cheese over a few when I took them out of the oven and my boyfriend and I ate them with the melted cheese. Absolutely amazing. I can't think of a better breakfast food or heavy snack. Will have to determine the best way to reheat. I hope nuking will work, but I think oven will be the only way to get the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Of course the Finns will probably flip when they read this, but I didn't have any rye flour, so I used regular flour and added a tsp. of italian seasoning, tsp of chives, and a tsp of rosemary. The pies turned out wonderfully and tasted great. I will definately try this again and see what it tastes like with rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good for the ingredients involved! These were fairly easy to make. I'll be making more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
my mummu uses this recipe each time i go to her home.To add a little spice she just sprinkles a little bit of cayenne pepper and in a flash it tastes even more magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This dish is very creative and delicious. I prepared them today and are very crispy. Next time I'll substitute for seafood inside or meat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I was introduced to these by a co-worker who's wife made them. I liked them so much I searched on here for the recipe and made them. A lot of work to make but they are my favourite snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried PB&J Pinchy Pies

See how to make super-simple fried pies filled with peanut butter and jelly.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States