Karjalan Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good for the ingredients involved! These were fairly easy to make. I'll be making more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Good recipe, and this review comes from a Finnish girl whose Grandma and Great-Grandma used to make these by the hundreds every morning to be sold at local farmer's markets. I think the eggbutter which Karjalan Pies (Karjalan Piirakka) are traditionally served with should be part of this recipe: 3-4 hardboiled eggs, peeled and chopped (use egg slicer...slice one way and turn the egg, and slice another way), combined with easily spreadable butter ("I can't believe it's butter light" works great), and some salt to taste. Gently mix together and spread on top of the warm pies for a more authentic taste. Also, don't worry too much about the shape when rolling the uncooked dough...kind of an oval/circle will do just fine. Run your hand (with a little flour in it) over the rolling pin after rolling out each pie (on floured surface), this will keep it from sticking. The thinner you roll the dough, the crispier the pies (substituting some regular bread flour will make the pies softer). Pasta machine makes the rolling part faster if you are making a large batch, 50 or so. Typical Finns make these pies much larger in size than this recipe says, this amount would only make about 7-8 pies. I always use Calrose rice and wait until it's still easy to stir, but all the runny fluids are absorbed. Thanks, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hooked on recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This dish is very creative and delicious. I prepared them today and are very crispy. Next time I'll substitute for seafood inside or meat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Great recipe, I made a dairy free version with soy milk in the porridge and dairy free marg and it was superb, almost as nice as my mummu used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Mine weren't pretty, and due to the grocery store being out of rye flour and me being impatient, I used plain white flour. But it tastes great! I put a slice of cheese over a few when I took them out of the oven and my boyfriend and I ate them with the melted cheese. Absolutely amazing. I can't think of a better breakfast food or heavy snack. Will have to determine the best way to reheat. I hope nuking will work, but I think oven will be the only way to get the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kuratenko
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Time consuming but fun to make the boat shape. The dough can be sticky so dusting is important when rolling out the dough. My hubbie found this a bit confusing, though, because he expected sweet rice pudding wrapped in dough. Leftover made a great snack when reheated in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I was introduced to these by a co-worker who's wife made them. I liked them so much I searched on here for the recipe and made them. A lot of work to make but they are my favourite snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have two Finnish daughters in law and first tasted these delicious pies in Levi in Northern Finland. We used to eat them warm with chopped hard boiled egg mixed with melted butter on top.I was thrilled to find this recipe and made them with very good results. I used sushi rice and a pasta machine to get the required thickness for the dough.One of my daughters in law is staying with me in Australia and she enjoyed the little taste of home. I made mine a little smaller than Sarah's and boy, are they filling. No ski slopes here to work them off ! Thanks Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Of course the Finns will probably flip when they read this, but I didn't have any rye flour, so I used regular flour and added a tsp. of italian seasoning, tsp of chives, and a tsp of rosemary. The pies turned out wonderfully and tasted great. I will definately try this again and see what it tastes like with rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Fried PB&J Pinchy Pies

See how to make super-simple fried pies filled with peanut butter and jelly.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States