Karen's Slow Cooker Pizza Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I was excited to try this new recipe. If anything tastes like Pizza and is healthy my family will love it. I decided to add a few more veggies - I added a can of stewed tomatoes and used a bag of chicken tenders (Perdue). It was very tasty but we all agreed that it tasted a lot like Chicken Cacciatore. The chicken melted in your mouth. I will probably make it again but will play a bit with the recipe to actually try to get it to taste like yummy pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made it exactly as written, and found the results to be good enough, but nothing special. In my book, this gets a 3-star rating - not bad, but there are better recipes out there. It did come out fairly soupy (or saucy), so I had some of the leftovers on a bed of cooked long-grain white rice. To be fair, it's probably fairly healthy, with the chicken and various vegetables, but it just didn't impress me all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I like this recipe! I just added a garlic clove and 1 teaspoon of olive oil! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I agree the chicken comes out dry after hours. It is ok, but not as zesty as i had hoped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachy2256

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very bland, even with extra seasonings and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
We liked this, but we did make some changes to the recipe. We added a lot of S&P to the raw chicken & we left the breasts whole instead of dicing them b/c we were hoping they would better retain their moisture & they did. We use organic products & for some reason there aren't organic condensed soups, so we used a 15 oz can of cream of tomato soup & a 15 oz can cream of mushroom soup (which is 'semi condensed'), leaving out the H20. We used canned mushrooms in place of the celery like other reviewers suggested. I think if our herbs were fresher it would have had a lot more flavor, but I'll admit it, we're cheap & we're using up what we've got! We took the chicken out of the crock pot, took a 1/2 cup of sauce, stirred in 2T of cornstarch & then poured that back into the rest of the sauce in the crock pot, turning it on high, stirring it occasionally to thicken it. We served this on a bed of penne & we topped it w/mozzarella (our son used goat's feta instead & loved that too). We have quite a lot leftover, so we're planning on working on adding more flavor to the sauce before we serve the rest of it later on this week. I was worried we were getting too liberal w/the S&P, but I think the H20 that comes out of the veggies & the chicken really makes the salt fade into the background, so don't be afraid to use a lot of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
It was okay. Thought it tasted more like pizza BEFORE cooking. Turned out like a thin chili/stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I wrote this recipe and have adjusted some things after seeing the reviews and cooking it several more times. Adjust the seasonings appropriately, more than likely, a tsp of each will be fine. Forget the water & if the soups are too thick, add some chicken broth or white wine. Cook in the crockpot only 6 hours at most; I had some turn out tough and rubbery, yuck! I've also tried this with chicken breast cut into cubes and also boneless thighs, which create a different flavor, but still good. Fresh herbs work well but only add them the last hour of cooking or they will turn brown and unrecognizable. Thanks for all your reviews! Even the negative ones. One cannot grow without critisizm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuisinebykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is great served in a sourdough bread bowl--really brings out the flavors and soaks up some of the liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This wasn't the most exciting meal I've ever made, but it's a good mid-week, kid friendly satisfying dish. The only thing I did differently was adding a good bit of chili powder to the mix to taste. It added a little more bite of flavor and added the taste I expected to find when I smelled it. I used this as a topping for rotini pasta. Overall, a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States