Karen's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Stitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Dog lover
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These cookies were great! I did use 2 eggs and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. I did not chill the dough, it rolled out great w/o chilling. I love the parchment paper to roll out (no extra flour needed!)I brought them to ladies card night and they went fast. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These are great! 4 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe! I used imitation vanilla extract due to my husband's allergy, and it was wonderful. Also, he's highly allergic to egg whites, so it was nice to have a recipe that called for egg yolks instead. No itchy tongue for him! And my daughter loved making these cookies for Santa. So easy and simple. The only thing I did differently was add an extra teaspoon of imitation vanilla extract so that it wasn't so bland. These make excellent frosted or iced sugar cookies. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Such a good recipe!! These did NOT last long at all. I used almond extract instead of vanilla and made mine into thumbprint cookies using spiced plum jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
These turned out good. At times I can be a bumbling fool when it comes to baking cookies so I read all of the reviews. I used a whole egg and when the dough mixture looked to be the right consistency for rolling I stopped adding the flour mixture to keep it from drying out. I used "Sugar Cookies Icing" here on AR to ice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
As others have done, I used two whole eggs and ended up adding more flour until I reached a good rolling consistency. Just for something a little different, I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and was pleased with the flavor. I did have to work fast between batches, as the dough softened quickly making it sticky. I baked one pan at time, and put the dough in the fridge between batches. The texture was spot on, and the cookies were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
These worked great for me. It's important to chill the dough in a flat disc, and then when you're ready to roll and cut the cookies, allow it to rest at room temperature for about 5-10 minutes after removing from the fridge. This prevents the dough from being too crumbly while rolling. Using Reynold's parchment paper to roll them out meant no sticking, and almost no cleanup. I loved the taste, they aren't too sweet which means you can add icing and candy and not get a crazy sugar rush! My girls loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good recipe. Nice texture and flavor, but they seemed a bit crumbly compared to the other recipe I use on ARC. I did use the Reynolds Parchment for chilling, rolling and baking. No mess in the kitchen or on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The overall problem seems to be the amount of flour. That's what creates a dry/crumbly dough. I chose to scale the flour to an even two cups, and added it to the creamed butter mixture 1/4 cup at a time. It worked beautifully! I followed the remaining recipe exactly. There is no need to add the egg white, as this will create a cookie that is drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Karen's Tips for Easy Baked Risotto

Get tips for making easy baked mushroom and onion risotto.

Karen’s Cranberry Apple Sweet Potato Packet

Sweet potatoes, apples, and dried cranberries bake in a tasty brown sugar sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States