Karen's Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Such a good recipe!! These did NOT last long at all. I used almond extract instead of vanilla and made mine into thumbprint cookies using spiced plum jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
The dough is so difficult to work with. I couldn't use the cookie cutters on it and they were pretty bland to taste. I prefer the rolled sugar cookies on this site that contain Cream cheese. Those are really easy to work with cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Dog lover
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These cookies were great! I did use 2 eggs and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. I did not chill the dough, it rolled out great w/o chilling. I love the parchment paper to roll out (no extra flour needed!)I brought them to ladies card night and they went fast. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
These worked great for me. It's important to chill the dough in a flat disc, and then when you're ready to roll and cut the cookies, allow it to rest at room temperature for about 5-10 minutes after removing from the fridge. This prevents the dough from being too crumbly while rolling. Using Reynold's parchment paper to roll them out meant no sticking, and almost no cleanup. I loved the taste, they aren't too sweet which means you can add icing and candy and not get a crazy sugar rush! My girls loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made these cookies as directed in the recipe, even though I had doubts due to the other reviews. The dough was very hard to work with and roll out. In the end, I gave up trying to make cut-out cookies and instead rolled the dough into balls with my hands and flattened them out into colorful circles. After the cookies were baked they had a nice flavor, but were very dry. I am an avid baker and I don't suggest this recipe. If you are planning to make it, definitely take the advice of the reviewers who tweaked this one. Use whole eggs, and a bit less flour. The Reynold's Parchment paper really was the saving grace for these cookies. I think they would have been burned or been too fragile if they were baked on an unlined cookie sheet. They had perfectly browned bottoms and slid right onto the cooling rack, thanks to the parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My granddaughters really enjoyed these. Based on others reviews that the dough was dry and crumbly, I used the full 2 1/2 cups of flour and two whole eggs. The dough was a bit soft but rolling between the sheets of parchment worked really well. Once the dough was chilled it was easy enough to work with. I love the rolling and baking on parchment, it works great and makes for easy clean up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These are a nice, buttery cookie, but the ingredient amounts are off. After reading the reviews, I followed the other reviewers' suggestion to use 2 cups of flour and that worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The taste of these cookies is amazing with the change I made (using brown sugar AND white sugar rather than just the white). These were so good, they didn't even need frosting, though they wouldn't taste bad with it either. My cookies were difficult to roll because the dough was sticky, so I just spooned them onto parchment paper like drop cookies. They spread quite a bit in the oven (I didn't have enough time to refrigerate them for the full hour), but they were delish. My husband tried one a few days later and said it was so moist that it tasted as if it had just come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I cannot give 5 stars because I made changes to the cookies. I used less flour (2 cups total) and more sugar (1 cup total). I used half of the vanilla it called for and used 1 whole egg + 1 egg yolk. With these alterations, the cookies turned out great! I did bake them twice as long as called for (as some ovens vary). My mom and I made an icing consisting of powdered sugar, butter, milk, and a bit of vanilla and finished the iced cookies off with sprinkles. The parchment paper helped for an easier clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, but scaled it to 18 cookies. I did sift my flour before I measured the amount stated and I thought the dough was a bit too soft at room temperature, but that was easily remedied by keeping the unused portion in the fridge and then chilling it again before separating the cut outs . I was pleasantly surprised by how delicate and buttery they turned out. Oh, I did replace the vanilla extract with lemon, but that shouldn't have made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Karen's Tips for Easy Baked Risotto

Get tips for making easy baked mushroom and onion risotto.

Karen’s Cranberry Apple Sweet Potato Packet

Sweet potatoes, apples, and dried cranberries bake in a tasty brown sugar sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States