Karen's Baked Banana Stuffed French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
awesome! great way to use up ripe bananas. my boys tore it up, i only had a bite (diet), but it was so yummmy. made the house smell wonderful for a few hours. i used regular white bread with crust removed. used 10 slices instead of 8, needed more coverage for top layer. sliced bananas instead of mashing. served with butter and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very Yummy. Thanks so much for a new flip on French toast. It was so easy. Next time I will follow as others suggested and use sliced bananas, the mashed came out just a little bit runny. I added powdered sugar over them and I served it with strawberry soup (recipe on this site). Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Beaverhousen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Not the greatest. I used sliced bananas instead of sliced like some of the other reviewers recommended but this wasn't anything great, and just wasn't what I expected. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Nah. Didn't really think this turned out that well for the trouble. I did slices instead of mashing as one reviewer suggested. I liked how the warm bananas tasted with the syrup. But it seems to me you may be able to get the same flavors by just making regular French toast and maybe warming bananas in syrup before you pour it on. Not worth all those extra steps. I am not one to be afraid of extra steps if it is worth it. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This recipe was absolutely amazing! I made it this morning for my boyfriend and myself and it tasted great. My mother looked quite skeptic about it so I just made her normal french toast. *Just a warning to any who try his recipe; first, do not add any more eggs to the mix as it will take too long to cook (meaning extra oven-time) and second, soak the sandwich for no more than 45 seconds as it will turn to mush and soak up way too much (further increasing the oven-time). One last thing, I attempted to slice the bananas finely and layer them in the sandwich, it would have been MUCH easier to just mash them as directed, that way you don't see all the banana juices leaking out as well. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was very good! I used regular sliced wheat bread in place of the french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Used Challah bread for this and took Jessica's advice and added my daughter's soy butter (tastes like P.B.) to the bread. She loved this breakfast! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I've made this recipe for years, it's a perennial favorite. I triple the recipe to ensure leftovers and then smear them with peanut butter and honey and grill up sandwiches.Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was okay, my husband liked it more than I did. I also had to double the milk/egg mixture to have enough. Tasted best with syrup and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I used a cookie sheet for baking them. I found that this was not enough egg mixture but maybe my bread was bigger than expected. Overall, good food. My husband really liked it, even saying it was necessary to put anything on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States