Kapusta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am Polish - and I'm not just saying it - I immigrated to the US six years ago from Poland. This dish is actually called "bigos", not kapusta. You make it with mushrooms for Christmas Eve dinner - no meat for the Polaks that day. On all other occasions, we add kielbasa, bacon, or some pork meat instead. You can add some tomato paste to amp up the flavor. Bay leaf will also aid with the flavoring. You can make it just with the fresh cabbage or just with the sauerkraut - depending on what you like. Also - I've never heard of adding sugar to it - cut it - you won't miss it. One last thing - we make it in a pot on the stove. Originally, it's not a baked dish, rather, it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
a very different unique taste. added sliced polska kielbasa to the mix, and then baked. gave it a very good smoky taste. will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
this is similar to what my grandmother makes, without the mushrooms and bacon fat instead of butter. to save time use 1 whole head of cabbage, 2 large onions and 1 jar sauerkraut and freeze left overs so you have some on hand! i put in a roaster and top with knackwurst, cover and bake 1 hour, easy meal everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
My husband's grandmoter is Polish and this tastes very similar to a dish she served years ago. This is scrumptious- my teenage daughter ate 3 servings! This recipe is not hard- a little time consuming perhaps. To make Sunday dinner easy, I served this with a ready to serve spiral ham, buttered noodles sprinkled with cracker crumbs and poppy seeds, and a chunky applesauce (storebought). Rye or pumpernickel bread would go well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Wow! This is a fairly easy recipe to make and it tastes great. It might not be the most attractive dish, but the smells wafting from your kitchen as you prepare it make up for that completely. I wanted a more rounded meal, so I added about 1/2 a pound of browned sausage to the other ingredients. It made a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This is one of the better, unique, side dishes that I have tried in a long time. It is so easy to put together and so tasty. We especially enjoy it with kielbasa baked at the same time the dish is baking. Thanks for sharing this one, Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I have been making this every Christmas for the last few years. You don't have to add the sugar in this dish. I've been making it without and it is just fine. Also for anyone who is watching their weight, this is a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac, New York, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I am a "good German girl," and love kraut (and everything in this dish) but this just didn't do it for me. It wasn't attractive to look at; the mushrooms cast grey color throughout the dish, and I had to add a little sausage to give it the gusto I felt it needed. Maybe if I had a Polish grandmother, the emotional element would give this dish the boost I feel it so badly needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe is great as written. I do, however, change it up a bit to make it a little heartier. I place 2 pounds of country-style pork ribs on top of the mixture, cover the ribs with 8 oz. of beer, cover and cook it in a slow cooker for 8 to 10 hours. When the meat is very tender, I remove it from the crock, cool slightly, and shred it. I then add the shredded meat back into the cabbage mixture and continue to cook on low for about 20-30 min., until heated through. I usually serve this with either egg noodles or kluski (potato dumplings with onions and salt port) and rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
I am Polish and grew up eating this dish at the holidays with my family. I was always afraid to try making Poish dishes, but I gave this a try and it is great, I will definately make it again. Thanks Holly---anymore Polish recipes would be grateful!(It still doesn't get my kids to eat cabbage tho!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States