Kapusta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am Polish - and I'm not just saying it - I immigrated to the US six years ago from Poland. This dish is actually called "bigos", not kapusta. You make it with mushrooms for Christmas Eve dinner - no meat for the Polaks that day. On all other occasions, we add kielbasa, bacon, or some pork meat instead. You can add some tomato paste to amp up the flavor. Bay leaf will also aid with the flavoring. You can make it just with the fresh cabbage or just with the sauerkraut - depending on what you like. Also - I've never heard of adding sugar to it - cut it - you won't miss it. One last thing - we make it in a pot on the stove. Originally, it's not a baked dish, rather, it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Oh my gosh. My babcia makes this kind of Kapusta all the time. Eat it with some Ruske (Russian) piergoi. I love it, I love polish food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We make this recipe all the time, however we substitute the mushrooms with cut up potatoes, omit the sugar and use a clear lemon/line soda (sugar free). We also add meat counter quality polish sausage and it is requested from us anytime we go anywhere to bring this dish. It is amazing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I'm polish and never even heard of this recipe, so we had to have it. We added cheese on top. Its very similar to another recipe I make that has kielbasi on top. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
An easy and tasty dish, even my children like it. I add a pound of sliced, skinless smoked sausage to the sauerkraut; the sausage adds so much to the flavor of this dish. Leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I have been making this every Christmas for the last few years. You don't have to add the sugar in this dish. I've been making it without and it is just fine. Also for anyone who is watching their weight, this is a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac, New York, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
turned out totally dif. then my Polish Grandmothers Kaupsta. If I was grading on taste alone it would be a 4, but factoring in the look of it puts it down to a 3 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
this is similar to what my grandmother makes, without the mushrooms and bacon fat instead of butter. to save time use 1 whole head of cabbage, 2 large onions and 1 jar sauerkraut and freeze left overs so you have some on hand! i put in a roaster and top with knackwurst, cover and bake 1 hour, easy meal everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is a new favorite for us. We did add more pepper than what this recipe asks for, but after that wow, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Wow! This is a fairly easy recipe to make and it tastes great. It might not be the most attractive dish, but the smells wafting from your kitchen as you prepare it make up for that completely. I wanted a more rounded meal, so I added about 1/2 a pound of browned sausage to the other ingredients. It made a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States