Kansas Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is the only way I eat a tomato sandwich. Butter and toasted is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I love this sandwich, but with Mayo instead of butter. And it is sooo good on rye bread!!!! My grandpa would make this for us with the tomatoes from his garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saishalea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Don't knock it until you've tried it. This little beauty is as tasty as they come, especially when using fresh garden tomatoes. Be sure to slice your tomato thick. I like mine at about 3/4 of an inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Simple, but not quite the simplest.... here in SC we do soft white bread, mayo, sliced tomato, salt & pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very yummy. I used a bagel. Loved the butter much better than mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Good sandwich! Thanks for submitting it. I would've never thought about making it this way :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I've eaten this sandwich my whole life. I do use sharp cheddar cheese instead and add pickle. I usually hate it when people give a recipe five stars but then say they make a bunch of modifications. However, since I was born and raised and still live in Kansas, I figured it would be okay in this instance! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The simplest sandwich is so true! Many smiles here for the reminder in all the recipes we search for and try, often the "yummiest" is the simple one from our past. :O) Prepared as suggested or stripped down to just buttered white bead, fresh from the garden tomato, salt and pepper and you can't go wrong. Course, for added zip, toast and miracle whip will hit the spot ... and leave you wishing you had just one more half. Thanks for stirring up the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My grandmother used to make these for me 60 years ago, and always with mayo. Hers was homemade. I now fix them on homemade bread from my bread machine. It's the "Best Bread for Your Bread Machine" recipe, but I substitute some whole wheat flour for white, and add minced garlic, rosemary and bsil. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States