Kansas City Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made this with some leftover grilled ribeye steaks and fresh veggies: potato, green beans, corn, onion, celery, carrot, and diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Very creamy and delicious. more like gravy, which is how I served it, Spooned over cornbread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
very good flavorful soup that can stand up to main course status on a cool night with croutons or crusty bread. I used beef stock rather than cubes due to salt intake. will make again and again but probably leave out the carrot as that comes in the frozen ingredient. Cook the roux until very nutty-brown in color, stirring frequently, for better taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is very good, although I did make a few substitutions. Instead of water I used a couple cans of beef consume and the rest beef boullion. I used a can of regular diced tomatoes as it's what I had, which probably doesn't make much of a difference. I used tenderized round steak prepared according to the recipe. For the veggies I used only fresh chopped carrots, celery, green beans and potato. Can't really say how much, just till it looked hearty. I used a little thyme, and towards the end sprinkled a bit of beef boullion granules in to add a little more flavor. The consistency is more like stew. And it is hearty. It's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannabofanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Wow, was this good! My husband assumed that is was stew when he saw a thick, dark meaty/veggie something in a pot. He is the king of hating all things "stew". Once I convinced him that it was soup and not stew, he tried it and loved it. The kids went back 2 and 3 times for more! I made it almost just as written but didn't have any frozen veggies so I used more of the carrots and celery and did throw in a few potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
It was OK. Very hearty but we found the sauce a bit thick to call it soup. Our family isn't big on tomatoes with beef but if you like that flavor you'll really like this recipe. I was short on time, so a few changes: cut up potato and microwaved for a few minutes, then added to a pan I had sauteed the onions, celery and carrots in. Then continued sauteeing while I made the roux. Used some pre-cooked steak strips from Costco. Since everything was cooked it only needed to simmer while the biscuits were made and baked. I did as a previous poster suggested making vegetable stock with the onion peels and celery tops. Also added a can of green beans. When we go to unfreeze the leftovers (this makes a ton!) i'll try adding a can or two of beef broth or consumme to make it more soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I've never been to Kansas City but boy their Steak Soup sure is good! We really liked this recipe, will cut it in half next time as there are only two of us and we were eating it for days! I used a sirloin steak because that's what I had on hand, and it melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made this several times for my family and it is always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Also known as Plaza III Soup from the K.C. restuarant of the same name. Because this recipe orginated approx. 35 years ago I think it needs updating. Beef stock is a much better product than the beef cubes. I used reduced sodium beef broth in cartons combined with vegetable broth cartons to equal 1/2 gallon. The cartons have a better flavor than canned broth -used Swanson's. In addition to the 1 lb. of round steak I added 1 sirloin steak minced cooking it the same way as the ground round. Drain the meat after cooking but reserve the drippings. If soup needs thickening toward the end of cooking, make a roux with the drippings to stir in to the soup--added flavor & no waste. Smart Balance is good but I still prefer using unsalted butter though I reduced it to 1 1/2 sticks. If you must add diced potatoes, do so but know that it does alter the orginal recipe and makes it a stew instead of a steak soup; I think it tastes fine with out them but I grew up on this soup and it seems odd to add them. I am not a fan of stewed tomatoes so I subbed 1 can diced tomatoes without any seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe. I didn't add the tomatoes and cooked it in the crock pot, adding the butter and flour near the end. Oh I also added some cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very good!!!! Added some merlot wine and Worcestershire sauce. and fresh cabbage.. wonderful!!!!!!!!!! A great use of left over steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Willows, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States