Kansas City Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is wonderful. I am not a steak lover and I never eat stewed tomatoes and I found them delicious in this recipe. I didn't simmer it very long so the vegetables retained their snap. Nice thick base. Did not use water as recommended by another person
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Yes, but here is what it takes to make it good, don't use round steak. Use chuck or tenderloin beef tips. Use beef base not cubes, add 1/2 teaspoon curry powder at the end ,a must. Have good parmasan cheese to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We really enjoyed this soup, but I thought 1 cup of flour was too much. I used only 2/3 and it tasted good, but was really thick. Next time I'll use only about 1/4 cup to start. (And really you can skip and make broth soup instead). I skipped the frozen veggies , but did cut up a small yukon potato to add. Update; Made it a 2nd time. Still the best. Didn't add potato, but did add fresh mushrooms, 1/3 diced red bell pepper, about a cup of baby Bella sliced mushrooms and a cup of frozen corn.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This recipe was wonderful!!!! I was looking for something to do with leftover steak and came across this one. I added potatoes to it. But other than that followed the recipe exactly. Its sooooo yummy and has almost a buttery flavor to it. The kids loved it. I will be saving this one for sure!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talithar1
Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Definatly cut in half, makes a ton with leftovers to freeze after doing that. DIdn't use bouillon and the water. I used 2 cans beef broth and 2 cans of beef consume, plus 1 jar of stewed tomatoes. Added some worstershire also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
To salty. TO much bouillon for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was really yummy! I added more carrots, celery and steak than the recipe stated because we like chunkier soup. I also added a tablespoon of season-all. Really great recipe! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! My Mother in Law makes a KC steak soup, and although it is a little different than this, we LOVED this one! I double the recipe (i know, that sounds crazy, but it is nice to have frozen meals in our deep freeze for the hectic weeks). The only mistake with that is that the vegetables took a REALLY long time to cook. Like some other reviewers, my husband is not a fan of tomatoes, so I added only Potatoes, celery, carrots, and onion. Thank you so much for this recipe! It will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very versatile recipe. Great for a starter for me. I have tried it as is, but the second time I changed it up a bit. I like to use leftovers. I used leftover steak and diced up baked potatoes from the night before. I have lots of food storage, so I used dehydrated onions, carrots and celery. I added garlic and thyme to suite my tastes. I also like to add rice to it. I prefer to keep the tomato out, and so do my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States