Kanafa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RunnerGirl
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
MMM delicious!! make sure you serve it with chopped pistachios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunnerGirl
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I'm Palestinian and love your recipe ,i agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
It was great! I used orange blossom water instead of rose water and added a little more Nablusi cheese because I like my Kanafi a little more firm. This was also my first time making it and didn't know how to add the powdered kanafi food coloring and ended up adding too much because before it cooks it looks like an odd red color instead of the bright orange it turns while baking. That info would have been much appreciated, but otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Eating this was pure evilness. I can't even explain how amazing this is. It's sweet and cheesy and buttery and crunchy and gooey. And evil. I added sweet cheese to the filling, about a half pound chopped up. It's found in middle eastern groceries. And I added pistachios to the top...bottom? Walnuts that are toasted well in the baking process are a delicious and cheaper alternative to pistachios if you choose to add nuts. Spread the chopped nuts, about 1/2 cup, on the bottom of the baking dish before the first layer of kataifi. And add some red food dye to the syrup for a beautiful presentation or holiday event. Do not skip the rose water. I have made this with orange blossom water and rose water combined and the taste is incredible, too. It's hard to find kataifi, even in all the international grocers in ATL. But the search is WELL WORTH IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
great recipe you can use ghee instead of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good, almost exactly like what I ate while visiting Jordan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
it is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Its great , just make sure you use the shredded dough n then shread it in small grain size .i made a mistake by using the regular dough n shredding it, though the taste was awesome ,the texture was completly messed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
For me, the kataifi was not proportionate to the amount of cheese. I would possibly increase the amount of cheese by one third to get a nice amount of cheese in every bite. I was worried about making the syrup bitter and took it off the stove too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States