Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is SOOO EASY and delicious! I just start it in the crock pot, leave for work and its ready for dinner when we get home. It makes wonderful pulled pork bbq sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
We made this in the crock pot the night before. We were generous with the smoke and salt but it wasn't a 1/4 cup. We made sandwiches with bbq sauce and coleslaw - like Rumbi Island Grill. It was a great hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The BEST pork I have ever tasted! My husband usually has 3-4 helpings each time I make it. So tender and moist. Great alone or as BBQ pork sandwich, or as a quesadilla! Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Man oh Man! This was good and easy. My hubby cooked this this weekend & it is so good! We only cooked our roast for 10 hours on low and it was perfectly done. Will probably add a bit more liquid smoke next time (our roast might have been bigger than what was called for in the recipe). But so good. Made BBQ sauce using liquid smoke and that ramped up the smoke taste just enough ;-). Thanks Linda!!! I've been dying to use that pink Hawaiian salt I brought back with me from Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMTN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious! I always use a boneless pork butt. I serve it over boiled cabbage and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this for my stepson who lived in hawaii for a few years. I didn't tell him what it was and as soon as he ate it- he was very happy! It was very good! I couldn't find hawaiin sea salt but he didn't seem to notice the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
What a wonderful and easy recipe! I made this for my daughter's graduation party for 160 people. I cooked 8 pork butts and all guests raved about it. They actually thought I purchased it at one of the local barbecue establishments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Just like kalua pig from a hawaiian luau. The only change I would suggest is to put all the ingredients in a crockpot and let it cook for 8-10 hours on low and you are done!!1 This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family loved this roast! Very good! The only negative I can say is that the liquid smoke didn't come through at all. Other than that, the flavor was great, and the meat very moist and tender, even the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Totally delicious and so easy! I was a little shy on rubbing in the salt and smoke- won't be next time. Fantastic mildly smoky pork for just about anything you want to use it for. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States