Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made this tonight and it was pretty good. Served with kings Hawaiian rolls and coleslaw. Next time I will add quite a bit less salt. Way too salty for my taste. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
this recipe is awesome! love it and so does my hubby, being born and raised in hawaii, this reminds him of home :) usually cooks this for 9 hrs in the slow cooker, doesnt harm the taste, only enhances it. then add the cabbage and make a batch of sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was a pretty amazing recipe, and the pork tasted great for days after. Will definitely make this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I make this every time I have a crowd. I add a whole lot more liquid smoke because we love the flavor. So easy, so delicious and makes me feel like home (Hawaii).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! Like many others, I put all the ingredients in the crock pot on a work day, and come home 10 hours later to a delicious and ready dinner! I use pork tenderloin because it's the only cut of pork I usually keep on hand, and it turns out beautifully. I too use a bit less salt than the recipe calls for, but it is supposed to be a bit on the salty side...that's what Kalua Pork is! We always eat this pork on Hawaiian sweet rolls topped with coleslaw, bbq sauce and crispy fried onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyldfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I LOVE this recipe- except I throw it in the crock pot on low for 6-8 hours and use about 1 1/2 T. of the liquid smoke. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Hmm. I followed this recipe with one exception. I put it in the slow cooker. I doubled the meat, in fact it was a little over 7 lbs of pork. Because I doubled the meat I doubled everything else. It was so salty that it was the only thing the 15+ people had to say about it. I noticed a lot of the plates still had pork left on them to go in the garbage. I was so overwhelmed with salt that I chucked mine too. It was as salty as the ocean. Maybe saltier. I looked at another similar recipe just now, also on Allrecipes, and it called for 2 1/2 Tb. salt for 5 lbs of pork I think it was. (This one in comparison is 4 Tb. per 3 lbs of pork) Next time I will try that. With all of that salt my meat ended up dry. You don't notice it a whole lot because of the juices it sits in, but the meat if you pay attention is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I've just tried this recipe and although this recipe is good there's a little too much salt. I would recommend cutting about 1/2 of the portion on the Hawaiian salt and if you want an easier time shredding the pork, I would recommend doubling the time of cooking process from 3 hours to 6-7 hours of cooking time at 300 degrees; a full 8 hours is also good. You can also do this in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
So easy and good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made in crockpot. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States