Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This tasted pretty similar to what we had in Hawaii. I think next time I will add more smoke and less salt. That is just a personal preference. It was very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My hubby HATES pork, and was suspicious when I said, "pork roast" when he asked, "what's for dinner?" He ate a stuffed sandwhich, and extra meat after. Then he took it to work for lunch the next day. He ate it for Dinner that night, AND lunch again the next day. Very rarely does he eat the same thing that many times in a row. I cooked it for 19 hrs, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Terrific EXCEPT Take note of the other reviewers. VERY easy to add too much salt. Use MUCH less than in the recipe. Like no more than 1/2. I don't like the idea of liquid smoke, so I used smoked paprika instead. Here's what I recommend: 1) 2 lbs pork butt or shoulder, 2 1/2 tsp Hawaiian salt, 1 tbsp smoked paprika. Rub over pork. 2) Cook for 16-20 hours on low (flip sometime in the middle) 3) Take out, shred meat. Place back in slow cooker mixing in with juices. Mix in 3-4 cups shredded raw cabbage. 4) Cook on low ~ 1 hour longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
very good. i even put barbque sauce towards the end to turn into shredded bbq pork much better than another crockpot bbq pork recipe i got from this website. the kalua pork tastes just like how Ono hawaiian does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This Kailua pork recipe is delicious! I have it many times in hawaii and it tastes very similar! SO delicious! We like to put it on those hawaiin buns with potato salad on the side. I know that's not traditional but its easy and something you can try! Definitely make this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have to say, I was very skeptical when I saw only 3 ingredients. However, this is a very tasty recipe! I tried to follow the original recipe (However, I didn’t have Hawaiian sea salt, so I had to use my Mediterranean Sea Salt, Kirkland brand, from Costco). I used 2 boneless 2.5 lb pork “butts” (shoulder cut). I cooked on low for 20 hours as the recipe states. The pork was tender, moist, and not too salty. I will definitely make this recipe again! It tasted as good as the pork my husband slow cooks on the barbecue with out all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
We loved this. I didn't find it too salty at all but definitely didn't need to add seasoning either. I had to bail the grease out halfway thru cooking due to the fatty cut of meat. Fall apart tender roast. Thanks for sharing. Will make this again. I found Hawaiian sea salt cheap at cost plus after looking everywhere for it, if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Ok, if you want a bland pork chop that has the mild flavor of liquid smoke this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I was really concerned about the "too salty" comments especially since I rarely use salt. I used a little less salt and just a little more liquid smoke. I also had a tenderloin as I couldn't find a butt or shoulder. Cooked it the day before and placed on warm the day of serving. Everyone loved it. Change from our usual Carolina style bbq. Made a lot so might use it for burritos or enchiladas later this week. Yummo. For those complaining about how dry the meat was, not sure why. I turned frequently and had to stop after a few hours as the meat started to break apart in the liquid. It remained juicy and tender through all that cooking. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States