Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I get rave reviews everytime I make this. Incredibly easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Koerner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was raised in Hawaii and except for using a crock pot or slow cooker instead of an imu this is the real deal. I live on the central coast of CA where there are banana trees on just about every block so I ask a neighbor for a couple of the leaves. I wrap my pork roast in the banana leaves after rubbing the salt and liquid smoke over it. I however use Kosher salt instead of sea salt. Realistically everything that lives in the sea poops and pees in it, humans empty both treated and raw sewage into the oceans and birds fly over the drying ponds, no thank you. I always use a good sized pork butt because we love the left overs and they freeze well. The amount of salt I use depends on whether the roast is large or very large. Gotta have sticky rice to go with it topped with the shredded pork and juices. The first bite always brings back a flood of memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent. I had a 3# pork shoulder blade roast that I had to halve to make it fit into my 4 qt slow cooker. The roast does break down and the liquid smoke does its job. It is truly a delicious recipe that requires little effort. It took 7-8 hrs for my smaller roast and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY5140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
outstanding recipe, so delicious, so easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My family and I LOVE this recipe. It is so simple and so flavorful. We even made it for our Christmas party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Loved it. I used a 4# shoulder roast, and cooked it at low heat for 7 hours. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe is a great recipe and makes super moist pork. We use it for tacos, pulled pork sandwiches and even Cuban sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This really is good. Great aroma too. Good on bread, in salad, or as carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing!!! My kids ate several servings and that is totally not normal. Just told my daughter (4yo) that I was making it again and she RAN over to hug me cause she was so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States