Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I also add a large whole banana unpeeled (or banana leaves) to give it that Hawaiian flavor. Remove the whole banana and disgard once the roast is done. Believe me, it adds flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made this twice -- once, to take to other people. I cooked the pork shoulder overnight, and it was so tender that I didn't even have to shred it … it just fell apart. Then I threw another pork shoulder in the slow cooker to cook for OUR family and cooked it for seven hours. It did not fall apart as easily, and I could tell that it wouldn't, so the last two hours I put the slow cooker on high instead of low. That did the trick. I thought it was very tasty, and perfectly good. Hubby and son wanted barbecue sauce on theirs (too bad -- didn't have any!). I thought that the meat tasted great as is. I'm trying to eat more Paleo-like, and trying to eliminate bread and sugar. Hubby and son had theirs on a bun -- I had mine over "cauliflower rice" with a homemade pineapple salsa on top. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have searched for a really good Kalua Pig recipe for a very long time. I can honestly say I have finally found it!! I will continue make this again and again and continue to share this recipe with my family and friends. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Was a bit skeptical at first, but this recipe turned out fantastic. My roast was a bit bigger than required but added an extra hour and this turned out magnificent! Served it with some shredded red cabbage using the cooking juices from the cooker and a little bbq sauce on some hamburger buns...Yum! Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Delicious! Very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The ingredients are so simple! However, I cooked it on low for 24+ hours, and about the 12-hr mark I shredded it while it was in the juices. The shredded met soaks it all up and the finish product is just absolutely divine and moist. Not to mention the whole house plus the neighborhood smells of Awesome. A huge family fave, and made this several times on the mainland for family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My Mom obtained this recipe in Hawaii when my Dad was stationed there years ago. Being garlic lovers, we've always pierced the pork with a large knife & push 8-10 cloves of garlic into the meat and then cook! It's especially yummy served over rice and makes the best BBQ sandwiches...if there's any leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We tried this about a week after we got home from a Hawaiian vacation, so the Kahlua Pork was fresh in our minds. Let me just say....PHENOMENAL!!! We have made this SO many times over the past year and have had nothing short of fabulous reviews each time. Only thing is that it only takes us about 12 hours to reach fabulousness...not the 16-20. Try it, you won't be disappointed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Outstanding basic/key recipe - so easy & such a good result. I used an odd 2.5# cut of pork roast that was very fatty & it cooked beautifully. Used the original size crockpot to maximize the roasting capability of the crock & was out of liquid smoke so used oyster sauce which stank up the house a bit but gave a nice flavor to the roast; I suspect I could forgo any liquid in the rub & still get an excellent result (the pulled pork was served in various sauces so the delicate flavor of the plain pork itself isn't as important for us). I do believe that a certain amount of salt is required for the rub to help the meat give up its juices. Now I'm eager to try this technique with a beef roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pix F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was pretty good. I will admit, I cheaped out and used kosher salt instead of the sea salt because it's what I had on hand. The pork was amazingly tender but a tiny bit dry - mine didn't make all of those wonderful juices that everyone else is raving about. Still, tender and flavorful. We made pork sandwiches on Italian rolls with thick slices of Swiss cheese. I loved how easy this recipe was - this is what slow cooker recipes are supposed to be! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States