Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Was really good. I will be making thie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Not to mention very easy. The only thing I changed was I used 1tbl spoon of the white Hawaiian salt and a half tbl spoon of the black Hawaiian salt because I wanted a little more of the smoky flavor and it turned out perfect, I will not change a thing. I'm looking forward to leftovers and frying some of the meat and making some carnitas. I do not know how to cook at all but I did this and I'm completely satisfied as is my husband. It gave me confidence that I can try some other recipes....I'm just getting started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medranoml

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have been making kalua pig while we lived on the Islands and now on the mainland. I used to use banana leaf but now since we no longer have a banana tree in my backyard, I use 4-5 whole bananas. I poke holes all over the pork and then rub the smoke and salt all over. With fat side up, place bananas on top then on goes the lid. I cook for 3 hours high then 5-6 on low. We eat it with white rice and peas. Yummy! Also with leftovers, kalua pig nachos are great. Just layers of nacho chips, cheese, pig, then top with black olives, tomatoes, guacamole, whatever you like! This recipe is da kine grinds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
So simple and SO GOOD! I made this for a church party of 30 people and everyone loved it. Make sure to check around before buying the Hawaiian Sea Salt. I could only find it at one store (Hy-Vee Health Market) in Cedar Rapids, IA and it was $14.00 for 7oz.! If you have the time, make sure to look on line to buy it as you can find it much cheaper! Because I was short on time, I read the reviews and was going to cheat on the salt but decided to buy it at that price anyway. So glad I did. It really is different. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Sooo good! Had a 20 lb pork shoulder in a roaster for an indoor luau. We had 80 ppl for my daughters 1st birthday...in the middle of a blizzard. I turned up the heat a little and cooked it for 8 hours. As some suggested, I threw a sliced open banana on top and had Korean BBQ on the side for those that like sauce. Some people used the Hawaiian sliders or pretzel rolls to make a sandwich, others ate it over rice. Everyone raved over this. I thought it was just as good if not better than the luau I went to in Maui! Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very good with 2 changes: Cut the salt to 1 Tablespoon and, yes this sounds weird but it works perfectly, place 2 UNPEELED bananas on top of the roast when you start the slow cooker. By the time the roast is done the bananas will have melted away and you simply remove the leftover banana skins for the trash. Yes it sounds weird and NO it does not impart a nasty banana taste. It works. Been serving it to rave reviews for over 20 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've used either sea salt or kosher salt...it usually doesn't take that long to cook, and sometimes I will use a pork loin in place of the pork butt roast...a little less fatty. I also add cabbage for the last hour or so for an authentic kalua pig meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Cooked this for 20 hours, it's amazing, just like the Kalua pig we always had while living in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is one of the best pulled pork recipes I have ever made! Just make sure that you chose a cut that has a bit of fat on it to keep in moist with lots of flavor. The first time I made it, I chose a very lean cut and it wasn't as good as the second time when I made it with a fattier cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelneben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States