Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I went with ES' version! 2.5 lb boneless pork shoulder (Safeway butchers will cut open a package & make a smaller cut if you ask kindly ;-). ) no fork so used paring knife to 'stab' the meat thoroughly then rubbed in 1/2 tablespoon smoked sea salt followed by 1/2 tablespoon liquid smoke-mesquite. Then cooked 3 hours on high turning 4 times the first hour then once every hour after that. Turned to low after three hours as sound of cooking fat changed. Checked meat temp & was at 170 already! Cooked another 2 hours on low to see what would happen. Shredded the pork then returned it to the cooker for an hour on low to soak up the juices with about 4 cups of shredded cabbage since I & my friends are trying to cut back on meats without cutting back on great food! Served with short grain rice. Couldn't find sushi rice so went with basmati. Did not find it too salty, but will put out extra smoked salt for those guests who prefer that. ROCK ON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
3 ingredients to awesomeness. My finance is from Hawaii and LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Amazing! I cooked it for 24 hours in my slow cooker and followed the recipe exactly. This was so good! We put the meat on sandwiches and I added a dash of apple cider vinegar on top. This recipe is so simple but the results are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Easy for a "bad cook"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca K.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Tastes the same as the kalua pig from the pit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was amazing, and after it sat for several days in fridge, it was even better. I did not have Hawaiian sea salt so I used regular sea salt and a small can of pineapple juice. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kovac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was pretty good but a little salty for my tastes and the meat was a bit mushy from all that crock pot time. I'll probably make this again but will reduce the salt and cooking time. Maybe crisping up the meat after cooking in a hot skillet will improve the texture some and give it a bit more chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizcookie
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing! So easy to make & delicious! I cooked 6.89 lbs of pork shoulder butt for 18 hours on low and used Alaea (fine) Hawaiian Sea Salt from Saltworks ($8.95 for 16 ounces and free ship special). I was hesitant to spend xtra $ but after reading other reviews I decided to use the Hawaiian salt and Im very glad I did - it tastes like authentic kalua pig and was not too salty. I used the recommended amt of liquid smoke and 1 1/2 tbsp. salt but realized my measurement of fine, not coarse salt may make too salty and ended up dabbing some salt off w/ a wet paper towel. I also placed an open banana in peel on top and 1/2 cup water. Pork was easily shread and skimmed fat off after placing juices in freezer briefly per others suggestions. Put juices and addl tsp of liquid smoke back in shreaded pork & cooked addl 20 on low. Perfection and extra water gave extra juices needed! Thx for this wonderful recipe! NOTE: Recent reviewer gave low stars bc expected "Kahlua", for this "Kalua" recipe. Shame for reviewing based on your ignorance & not even making recipe! Look up definitions which took all of 10 seconds "Kalua" literally means cooking in underground oven and is Hawaiian cooking method, NOT "Kahlua" the liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I've made this several times now. It's so simple and reminds me of roasted pig at luaus. It's amazing and I always have lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made it for the first time and love it! I ordered Hawaiian Lava Salt from Amazon and was all set to make it, then looked at how long it had to cook. We went ahead and made it exactly as directed and I wouldn't change a thing. You would think it would be salty, but it's not. We served ours with cole slaw on the side but it would be good on top. Tomorrow I'm using it with taco shells. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Jacquemin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States