Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I sooo wish I could have given this recipe a full 5 stars, as I made this for a significant family gathering. I will admit that I did not have the Hawaiian sea salt the recipe calls for, and substituted the Mediterranean sea salt on hand that I use regularly. Since the recipe did not specify course or fine salt, I felt safe using the fine salt I had in my cabinet. I got a little gun-shy when I measured out the allotted 1-1/2T of salt, and backed it down to 1-T. The results were disappointing...wayyyy too salty, and not "smoky" enough. I ended up rinsing 2/3 of the meat with water and adding it back to the crockpot to finish cooking. By that time, the salt had become "one" with the pork.Maybe my "salt-meter" is off-base, but my mother (who drives me insane salting food before she has even tasted it) admitted when pressed that it was "a tad too salty." (I DID NOT have Kalua Pork either of the 2 times I visited Hawaii. I would be willing to offer a revised review, should anyone like me to do so after they orchestrate my sampling of "the real thing" in the "Aloha State." :) Sorry KIKUKAT:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this for the second time and it was just as wonderful this time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great flavor. It was a little salty but that may have been my fault. I only used a 3lb pork roast but did't reduce the salt and liquid smoke. I only cooked it for 7 hours on low in my slow cooker and it came out very tender and juicey. Well worth the cost of buying the specialty salt .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this several times - even did online order for red salt from Hawaii. We luv it !! I buy a bigger bag of coleslaw and throw it in a couple of hours before done. Ummmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I love this pork. So easy but so good. My granddaughter married a boy from Hawaii and she said to not take the meat out of the juices. Remove the bone and fat and shred it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This is a staple in our house. So easy and delicious. I usually do half the amount and it cooks on low for 10-12 hours then we chop up about a half a green cabbage and let it cook for another 30". Love that it cooks all day while I'm at work. We serve it over white rice or on Hawaiian rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe is wonderful, and being from Hawaii it's the closest thing I've ever had. Just for fun I bought two 6 lbs pork butt roast's and put one in a crock pot following the recipe exactly, and the other one I put cabbage leaves on the bottom and top of the roast since I didn't have tea leaves. When it was done (20 hrs on low), I discarded the cabbage leaves and the meat was so tender and not dried out at all. I also did what others suggested on the liquid and put in freezer to get the fat to the top, then put the good stuff back in the crock pot. I also cut up on small head of cabbage to added to the pork and broth, and so very ono (delicious)!! Mahalo for sharing your wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
So easy to make, just rub Hawaiian salt and liquid smoke on it and drop it in your crock pot.I don't know how it compares to a pig roasted in the ground since I have never been to a luau, but this make a great pot of pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just as close as getting kalua pork plate from any plate lunch stand in Hawaii. It is now staple in our local pot lucks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaleilani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I had to add a little stock to make sure that this would not cook dry in the middle of the night. Served it with a sesame-ginger slaw. Left overs were used to make 'Redneck Nachos'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States