Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe!! Flavorful and moist. Easy to prep. Cooking time was 5 hours on high, shredded the pork right in the crock pot with its juices. Excellent with hot rice. Just like back home. The grandbaby loved this. I just need to find poi now. Not much here in Tulsa, OK. for spices from the islands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waimanalo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Packed with flavor, easy, and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I can't imagine why this pulled pork recipe isn't more popular. It was wonderful. The Pork isn't overpowered with thick sauces, etc. The simplicity of the salt and liquid smoke, slow cooks was perfect. My only change: difficult to obtain Hawaiin Sea Salt in the middle of Kansas. So, I opted for Kosher salt. No other changes. It turned out perfect, full of flavor, tender, excellent. Kids have requested to have it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HallieinKC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I made this a couple of days ago. I was a little disappointed that it didn't WOW me right out of the crock pot, but it was super moist and tender. My sons and husband added some BBQ sauce, but I made my own sauce of roast juice, pineapple juice, a touch of terriyaki, and brown sugar, and a dash of soy sauce. Toasted my bun and topped with a slice of grilled pineapple and it was AMAZING!!! Next time I will cook and "reduce" the sauce to make it a little thicker, but it was still great. It seems to be a great roast recipe that takes on any flavor you add and makes it super! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was the best Kalua pork I have had outside of hawaii. I followed some of the suggestions and cut the salt to one tablespoon. I used a 6lb pork shoulder and mesquite liquid smoke, cooked it on high (with the skin on) for 3hrs and then on low for 2hrs. I took it out, removed the skin, shredded it, put it back in the liquid, added a touch more mesquite liquid smoke and cooked it on low for another hour. It came out perfect, and not too salty. With the white rice, I felt like I was back in hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is an easy, crowd pleasing recipe. I do not cook it as long as it says - depending on the size of the roast you may only have to cook it 7-8 hours on low. If you cook it too long it can become mealy and gummy as the meat breaks down too much. Serve this by itself, on buns, in tortillas, or lettuce wraps - all really good! We like to freeze the leftovers in tortillas for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Caffrey Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is my second time making this recipe exactly as written and it is fabulous! I will say a couple of things to the newbies: If you are sensitive to salt and smoke, put less in (you can add more later, if necessary). I was very happy to hear reviews that talked about defatting and re-adding the juices-that makes a HUGE difference. I wish I had read the review where the cook put gloves on when rubbing the meat before I did that. My hands smell of smoke, for sure. I am making this for a memorial potluck and am putting a twist on it: I am providing the pig with Cajun coleslaw and King's Hawaiian rolls for the sandwich. Also am providing a good quality BBQ sauce for those who might want the southern variety and slaw on the side. Another thought, but haven't done it yet is to provide a Kim Chee as a side or part of the plate lunch or sandwich. Anybody?? I believe this recipe to be a great part of a family dinner as well as something to take to a potluck. Made the night before and ready for the next day's evening. Let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This is VERY good. I cooked it 22+hours on low, turning over half way through. I added several cups of coarsely chopped cabbage about 45 minutes before serving. Really great with Thai peanut sauce over rice too, just to change it up at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This taste just like the kalua pork from the neighborhood Hawaiian restuarant. I made it exactly as written the first time and it came out great. But then after doing some research on kalua pork recipes, I found that the pork was wrapped in Ti leaves for more flavor. Since Ti leaves are hard to get, I wrapped it in banana leaves (can be found in most Asian markets) and that gave it a subtle smokey & sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Can't believe the complaints this had no flavor, it's pork, salt & smoke, not supposed to have a bunch of different flavors. Does bacon have a lot of flavors? No & it's yummy! (Though this isn't supposed to be as salty as bacon). Also many saying it's way too salty, I suspect they didn't use the right kind of salt. I assume this was written for the big chunky Hawaiian sea salts, which where I shop is sold in a bag right next to canisters of super-fine Hawaiian sea salt (finer than table salt). If you use the latter it would certainly be way too salty. If I don't have the chunky salt I use half the amount of kosher salt & it's not too salty, you still get the yummy flavor of pork. This makes quite a lot of meat, & for us it's 3 whole meals...(day 1) Kalua pork, served with sticky rice & mac salad; (day 2) Pulled pork - add BBQ sauce & nuke, serve on buns; (day 3) Carnitas - crisp up the pork in a skillet with a squirt of juice from a plastic lime, sprinkle of cumin, & fresh cilantro if I have it, served with guacamole & salsa. Love it when leftovers can be made into meals that are so different they don't seem like leftovers, & all 3 of these meals are inexpensive, easy, & don't require hardly any hands-on time in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States