Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Cheap, easy and simple. Makes me miss L&L when I was stationed in Hawaii. I usually take the leftovers and add barbecue sauce and make sandwiches for another meal. Killing two meals with one recipe. this helps with me and my wife both working. I tried shredded cabbage in the bag but I feel a head of cabbage is a little better. I just cut the head into quarters and cook for an hour or two. put some rice in the rice cooker. It is awesome! Definitely one we keep in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Am I supposed to add water? My husband insisted we add water even though the recipe didn't say to because "crockpot recipes always have water and it's common sense."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used Hawaiian sea salt that I had from a previous vacation. I served it with steamed white rice, Kings Hawaiian sweet rolls, and a salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Incredible. Don't forget the banana on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Hildreth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Thank you for the recipe first of all. I used a pressure cooker instead of waiting for hours on end. Also like others mentioned I put a whole banana on top of the meat for extra flavor. Overall this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is so amazing! I used the Hawaiian salt and a little smoked salt. I can see why some might say it is salty, but that is the way it is supposed to taste. I served this with brown rice, stir fried cabbage with garlic and pineapple spears. Even the kids loved it! EASY too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This Hawaiian raised girl LOVES this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First time making this recipe! It came out great following it exactly! I did remove fat from juices before adding shredded pork and juices back to crockpot to reheat for potluck at work the next day. Served with just the Hawaiian rolls, and everyone loved it. I will add a bit more liquid smoke next time, and I may try adding the banana next time also. PS no leftovers to try with BBQ sauce! :( so I will definitely make this again to try variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I can't ever find Hawaiian Sea salt but I have used Himalayan Salt and Kosher Salt and both were delicious! I've also tried it with leaner cuts of pork- don't do it- they aren't nearly as good as the butt roast- definitely worth the fat calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oanhs
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was so good and simple! I started with 8.5 lbs of pork butt/shoulder and gave it a good wash and pat dry. I rubbed about 1.25 tablespoon white Himalayan salt all over the pork and 1 tablespoon Wrights liquid smoke. I cooked for 11 hours on low and then took the meat out. I poured the remaining pork liquid into a glass bowl (there was so much!) and threw away huge chunks of fat. Then I cut half a head of shredded cabbage into the slow cooker with the Kalua pork. I poured about 1 cup of pork liquid back in. Cooked on low for another hour so that the cabbage breaks down. The salt and smoke flavor was perfect. Add more liquid if needed! It was so good and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oanhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States