Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Loved this recipe! So easy and appreciated all of the helpful suggestions from other reviewers. We all loved it in our house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Man this recipe is great! I can't wait to make it again. I used a 6 lb. pork butt/shoulder, Hickory liquid smoke, red Hawaiian salt and two whole bananas on top with a slit along the side. 5 1/2 hours on HIGH then 7 hours LOW. I used the others' recommendation and poured the liquid in a cup and let the fat settle to the top in the freezer. Then skimmed off the fat and put back into the crock pot for another hour with the shredded pork. Next time I'm gonna add the pineapple juice, maybe try the mesquite liquid smoke just to see the difference. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memers13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Oh my this is soo good. Just added one extra ingredient - fresh basil leaves halfway through the cooking. It gives an extra bit of taste without being overpowering. I will do this again at our Church's Hawaiian Luau in September. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great way to cook a pork roast!! The texture was just like the pork in Hawaii, but the flavor was a little bland. Served with some hawaiian BBQ sauce on sandwich and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a very delicious basic pulled pork recipe for anyone out there who haven't tried kalua pig before. I have read reviews of people saying that it's too salty and even bland tasting, again, for those who have never tried kalua pig before, this recipe is just right with the actual Hawaiian Red Clay Salt or the Black Salt. If you decide to use normal table salt or sea salt, you will definitely find it very salty. To address the blandness, what I do is to add 1 1/2 tablespoon of hickory liquid smoke and that gives it the extra smokiness to the pig. An excellent suggestion was to add 2 bananas slit open and placed on top. If you decide to do that, make sure it's not over ripe or spotted, organic bananas would be great. The bananas will turn black and your kalua pig will have a sweet banana smell and very subtle "island" flavour that will keep your guests wondering what created that fruity sweet aroma. Now again if you find it bland, then I would suggest adding bbq sauce as you eat it or, simply make a BBQ pulled pork instead which would require a much more lengthy ingredient list :) One radical change that I have done twice out of the 5 times I have made this recipe, is that I use the pork sirloin roast from Costco instead of the shoulder/butt roast as stated in the recipe. At the end of the cooking, the texture is as tender and juicy as the shoulder roast but I noticed far less fatty oils in the juice. I also cook this for 10-12 hours on low. Simple cooking tastes the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I thought this was too salty with not enough real flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe!! Flavorful and moist. Easy to prep. Cooking time was 5 hours on high, shredded the pork right in the crock pot with its juices. Excellent with hot rice. Just like back home. The grandbaby loved this. I just need to find poi now. Not much here in Tulsa, OK. for spices from the islands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waimanalo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Packed with flavor, easy, and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I can't imagine why this pulled pork recipe isn't more popular. It was wonderful. The Pork isn't overpowered with thick sauces, etc. The simplicity of the salt and liquid smoke, slow cooks was perfect. My only change: difficult to obtain Hawaiin Sea Salt in the middle of Kansas. So, I opted for Kosher salt. No other changes. It turned out perfect, full of flavor, tender, excellent. Kids have requested to have it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HallieinKC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I made this a couple of days ago. I was a little disappointed that it didn't WOW me right out of the crock pot, but it was super moist and tender. My sons and husband added some BBQ sauce, but I made my own sauce of roast juice, pineapple juice, a touch of terriyaki, and brown sugar, and a dash of soy sauce. Toasted my bun and topped with a slice of grilled pineapple and it was AMAZING!!! Next time I will cook and "reduce" the sauce to make it a little thicker, but it was still great. It seems to be a great roast recipe that takes on any flavor you add and makes it super! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States