Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have to say, I was very skeptical when I saw only 3 ingredients. However, this is a very tasty recipe! I tried to follow the original recipe (However, I didn’t have Hawaiian sea salt, so I had to use my Mediterranean Sea Salt, Kirkland brand, from Costco). I used 2 boneless 2.5 lb pork “butts” (shoulder cut). I cooked on low for 20 hours as the recipe states. The pork was tender, moist, and not too salty. I will definitely make this recipe again! It tasted as good as the pork my husband slow cooks on the barbecue with out all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
We loved this. I didn't find it too salty at all but definitely didn't need to add seasoning either. I had to bail the grease out halfway thru cooking due to the fatty cut of meat. Fall apart tender roast. Thanks for sharing. Will make this again. I found Hawaiian sea salt cheap at cost plus after looking everywhere for it, if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Ok, if you want a bland pork chop that has the mild flavor of liquid smoke this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I was really concerned about the "too salty" comments especially since I rarely use salt. I used a little less salt and just a little more liquid smoke. I also had a tenderloin as I couldn't find a butt or shoulder. Cooked it the day before and placed on warm the day of serving. Everyone loved it. Change from our usual Carolina style bbq. Made a lot so might use it for burritos or enchiladas later this week. Yummo. For those complaining about how dry the meat was, not sure why. I turned frequently and had to stop after a few hours as the meat started to break apart in the liquid. It remained juicy and tender through all that cooking. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
cut the recipe to 6 servings and other than the fact is was a bit too salty it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Fantastic! Made this in my crock pot with a 3lb roast rubbed with the red Hawaiian salt and just a dash of liquid smoke (I don't really like things with a smokey flavor). Cooked on low for about 12 hours. It was fantastic. My husband raved about it. We both agreed it was just as good as the Kalua Pig we had on Oahu last spring. Will definitely make this again. Honestly, it couldn't have been simpler. We served it with short grain rice and mac salad and fresh pineapple. Next time might try as a sandwich. I have a strong feeling this will become a regular in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I was so excited to try this recipe, having had Kalua Pig in Hawaii. I followed everything perfectly, but it was too oily for my taste and could've used a bit more liquid smoke. (Both reasons, I do realize are my personal taste and have nothing to do with the recipe.) The reason for the 3 stars is because the pork can be transformed into bbq pork the next day and pork tacos the next. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was easy to fix and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very good. It was a little salty for our tastes but that's an easy adjustment. Super easy to make. Our children loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Super easy and super tasty. Great with pineapple salsa. One of my daughters favorites! Makes the house smell great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States