Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this over the weekend, using some tweaks from other reviewers. I put the juices in the freezer for an hour while I was shredding the pork. Then it was really easy to spoon off the nearly solid fat. I put the pork and de-fatted liquid back in the crock pot with extra salt (I had gone easy on the salt at first) and more liquid smoke and cooked it an extra hour and a half. The meat absorbed the liquid and was so succulent that even my picky-eater daughter raved about it. Serving it over plain sticky rice helps balance the saltiness of the dish. My husband liked it so much that he took leftovers to work for his lunch. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe was advertised in on of the "I love slow cooker" recipes I received this week. After visiting Hawaii in April of 12 and having it at the Dole Plantation on Oahu, my wife was hooked on it. The biggest challenge in making this dish was finding the "Hawaiian Sea Salt". I did find it at a grocery store I absolutely hate shopping in. The recipe was easy to make it, and when my wife and daughter returned from their trip, they couldn't believe how great the house smelled. I read where other people at put the liquid in the freezer and was able to get some of the fat off, I did the same. After I shredded the pork,I put it back in the crock pot to keep it warm. I stirred in some of the left over drippings to keep the meat moist. All and all it was very good, and we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifesChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I checked on this at 12 hours, not the recommended 16-20. Almost completely dried out, I got about 1 small servings worth in the very middle of my 6 pounds of meat. Not everyone's crock pot's low setting is the same, so if yours tends to be hotter, make sure you check on the pork after about 6-8 hours. That center meat basically just tasted like regular slow cooked pig, nothing special. The expensive salt I purchased didn't change anything, couldn't really taste the liquid smoke. I gave in and used BBQ sauce. My suspicion is that the individuals who gave this rave reviews just haven't really done that much cooking or probably haven't made pork in the slow cooker before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was yummy and oh so easy! I have a smaller crockpot so I used a 3lb roast and cooked it 17 hours. It made 24 oz of pork- plenty for 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
AMAZING! I have loved this recipe since the first time I tried it. I just passed it along to a friend for her to try, and again, I'm drooling. I will have to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very easy to make, I used Hickory liquid smoke. It was a hit at the potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
5 stars+ - so-oo good and easy. I serve a spoonful of coleslaw on top of pork for a delicious sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My son lives on the Big Island, and last year for my grandaughter's first birthday, we had a huge party, and some native Hawaiian's cooked 3 pigs for the party in the tradiditional way. It was quite an experience. I've used this recipe several times, and it is very close to kalua pig cooked in a pit, and much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I'm from Hawaii, and this IS a great starter recipe! Once the pork is done cooking, I remove it from the slow cooker (save the drippings), shred it, and add a small cabbage (quartered), and 1 large sweet Maui onion (sliced). I toss it with the pork and juices, and 1 tbl. shouyu and, add it back into the slow cooker. I cover it, put it on medium, and cook for an additional 45 minutes to soften the cabbage and onions. If I'm pressed for time, I've also sauteed the cabbage and onions to decrease the cooking time. This also goes great with a nice coleslaw and pineapple salad on the side. (P.S. Choosing a good Hawaiian Sea Salt is important...look for the words "Alae" in the title. Amazon carries a few).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Very good although a bit salty for me until I added bbq sauce on the pork. I put several individual packages in the freezer for lunch and hectic evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States