Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
So easy to make, just rub Hawaiian salt and liquid smoke on it and drop it in your crock pot.I don't know how it compares to a pig roasted in the ground since I have never been to a luau, but this make a great pot of pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just as close as getting kalua pork plate from any plate lunch stand in Hawaii. It is now staple in our local pot lucks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaleilani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I had to add a little stock to make sure that this would not cook dry in the middle of the night. Served it with a sesame-ginger slaw. Left overs were used to make 'Redneck Nachos'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was good and easy! My husband loved it. We used the left overs and mixed a homemade bbq sauce and did some really good pulled pork sandwitches. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueannP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this over the weekend, using some tweaks from other reviewers. I put the juices in the freezer for an hour while I was shredding the pork. Then it was really easy to spoon off the nearly solid fat. I put the pork and de-fatted liquid back in the crock pot with extra salt (I had gone easy on the salt at first) and more liquid smoke and cooked it an extra hour and a half. The meat absorbed the liquid and was so succulent that even my picky-eater daughter raved about it. Serving it over plain sticky rice helps balance the saltiness of the dish. My husband liked it so much that he took leftovers to work for his lunch. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe was advertised in on of the "I love slow cooker" recipes I received this week. After visiting Hawaii in April of 12 and having it at the Dole Plantation on Oahu, my wife was hooked on it. The biggest challenge in making this dish was finding the "Hawaiian Sea Salt". I did find it at a grocery store I absolutely hate shopping in. The recipe was easy to make it, and when my wife and daughter returned from their trip, they couldn't believe how great the house smelled. I read where other people at put the liquid in the freezer and was able to get some of the fat off, I did the same. After I shredded the pork,I put it back in the crock pot to keep it warm. I stirred in some of the left over drippings to keep the meat moist. All and all it was very good, and we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifesChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I checked on this at 12 hours, not the recommended 16-20. Almost completely dried out, I got about 1 small servings worth in the very middle of my 6 pounds of meat. Not everyone's crock pot's low setting is the same, so if yours tends to be hotter, make sure you check on the pork after about 6-8 hours. That center meat basically just tasted like regular slow cooked pig, nothing special. The expensive salt I purchased didn't change anything, couldn't really taste the liquid smoke. I gave in and used BBQ sauce. My suspicion is that the individuals who gave this rave reviews just haven't really done that much cooking or probably haven't made pork in the slow cooker before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was yummy and oh so easy! I have a smaller crockpot so I used a 3lb roast and cooked it 17 hours. It made 24 oz of pork- plenty for 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
AMAZING! I have loved this recipe since the first time I tried it. I just passed it along to a friend for her to try, and again, I'm drooling. I will have to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very easy to make, I used Hickory liquid smoke. It was a hit at the potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States