Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
No, but it's exactly the way we made it at home in Hawaii. I lived there for 30 years and know what kalua pig is! Anyone who didn't like it has obviously never been to a luau in Hawaii. I don't know why anyone would change a thing, except to add cabbage and maybe some onion which is how it's usually served, after it's been in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Haven't made this yet, but I will! Just wanted to tell you that BJ's Wholesale Club has Hawaiian Pink Sea Salt in a grinder. I use it for everything/table salt and it's not very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Cheap, easy and simple. Makes me miss L&L when I was stationed in Hawaii. I usually take the leftovers and add barbecue sauce and make sandwiches for another meal. Killing two meals with one recipe. this helps with me and my wife both working. I tried shredded cabbage in the bag but I feel a head of cabbage is a little better. I just cut the head into quarters and cook for an hour or two. put some rice in the rice cooker. It is awesome! Definitely one we keep in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Am I supposed to add water? My husband insisted we add water even though the recipe didn't say to because "crockpot recipes always have water and it's common sense."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used Hawaiian sea salt that I had from a previous vacation. I served it with steamed white rice, Kings Hawaiian sweet rolls, and a salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Incredible. Don't forget the banana on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Hildreth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Thank you for the recipe first of all. I used a pressure cooker instead of waiting for hours on end. Also like others mentioned I put a whole banana on top of the meat for extra flavor. Overall this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is so amazing! I used the Hawaiian salt and a little smoked salt. I can see why some might say it is salty, but that is the way it is supposed to taste. I served this with brown rice, stir fried cabbage with garlic and pineapple spears. Even the kids loved it! EASY too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This Hawaiian raised girl LOVES this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First time making this recipe! It came out great following it exactly! I did remove fat from juices before adding shredded pork and juices back to crockpot to reheat for potluck at work the next day. Served with just the Hawaiian rolls, and everyone loved it. I will add a bit more liquid smoke next time, and I may try adding the banana next time also. PS no leftovers to try with BBQ sauce! :( so I will definitely make this again to try variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States