Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This pork dish was really good and even better with a can of pineapples poured over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terilk1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
used more liquid smoke than the recipe called for. Removed the pork from the pot, removed the fat from the pork and then chilled the pot so excess fat was easily removed before adding drippings back to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I made this twice for 2 large crowds (40+) so I had to use a couple of roasters and cooked it for 24-26 hours at between 200 and 225 degrees. The first was an older crowd and the second was a group of college students. Even those who stated they did not like pork reluctantly tried it after hearing their peers rave. They were so surprised to find themselves coming back for seconds! I ordered the sea salt online for ease. The only one who may have wanted to complain was my boxer who had to smell this cooking all night and day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Just wanted to tell you that BJ's Wholesale Club has Hawaiian Pink Sea Salt in a grinder. I use it for everything/table salt and it's not very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Cheap, easy and simple. Makes me miss L&L when I was stationed in Hawaii. I usually take the leftovers and add barbecue sauce and make sandwiches for another meal. Killing two meals with one recipe. this helps with me and my wife both working. I tried shredded cabbage in the bag but I feel a head of cabbage is a little better. I just cut the head into quarters and cook for an hour or two. put some rice in the rice cooker. It is awesome! Definitely one we keep in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used Hawaiian sea salt that I had from a previous vacation. I served it with steamed white rice, Kings Hawaiian sweet rolls, and a salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Incredible. Don't forget the banana on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Hildreth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Thank you for the recipe first of all. I used a pressure cooker instead of waiting for hours on end. Also like others mentioned I put a whole banana on top of the meat for extra flavor. Overall this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is so amazing! I used the Hawaiian salt and a little smoked salt. I can see why some might say it is salty, but that is the way it is supposed to taste. I served this with brown rice, stir fried cabbage with garlic and pineapple spears. Even the kids loved it! EASY too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This Hawaiian raised girl LOVES this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States