Kale and Quinoa with Creole Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Two super-foods in one delicious dish!! What I did: made a full cup of quinoa but used only one bunch of kale. I doubled the seasoning (made Creole seasoning from AR) and the salt - that was a mistake! In fact, cut some of the salt - with the chicken broth, you don't need it! I felt that it was lacking some crunch... so I threw in toasted almond slivers and pine nuts - PERFECT! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We gobbled it up! This was the first time I made quinoa for my daughters and myself, and the end result was very satisfying. I used onions in place of shallots, and next time I will use twice as much creole seasoning and no salt. The quinoa is quite filling. A bowl full of this kale and quinoa was a meal for me. Lots of health benefits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used blanched and shocked endive instead of kale, and it was a bit too bitter. Season with Creole seasoning first and use low sodium chicken broth. Mine was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Good recipe. We had fresh kale from the garden so I didn't do the blanching step, which was a nice time saver. I didn't have onion so just sautéed the kale in garlic and coconut oil, which adds another level of flavor to greens. I think onions would have been a nice addition. I also didn't have creole seasoning and after a little research ended up using cajun seasoning with some extra basil, thyme and oregano, which tasted good. Added some almonds as some other reviewers suggested but probably would not do that next time since it didn't seem to add much for us, but left it on the stove due to some timing issues so the nuts didn't add the crunch factor others mentioned, so that could be it. Wanted to add the lemon others suggested, but also didn't have any (hmmm, looks like we have a theme developing!); so I added a splash or two of white wine vinegar to give it a little zip. That was good, but I still think lemon would be better. Will definitely try again when I have lemons and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. I used Roland garlic quinoa and vegetable stock instead of plain quinoa and water. This was very flavorful, I thought it would be bland but it was not. I could not find creole seasoning so I substituted Emeril's Bayou Blast. If you like flavor try my version I think you will like it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I added a clove of garlic and doubled the seasoning and still thought it was bland. I'd recommend tripling the seasoning and added some red peppers or something else to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was absolutely amazing! This was my first time having quinoa. I didn't have shallots so I substituted with scallions... wonderful flavor. I made this with Pork tenderloin and mango salsa. Such amazing flavors combined. A winner in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A winner that I'll definitely make again! The creole seasoning and shallot added great flavor to the quinoa and kale ~ I love Creole seasoning and spice so I doubled (and then some!) the amount. Great leftovers, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllrecipesElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This recipe is amazing and quick! I replaced the chicken broth with vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. My kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious! I added shrimp, a little garlic, used vegetable broth and omitted the salt. The only problem... we enjoyed it so much that there wasn't enough! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States