Kale and Quinoa with Creole Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This recipe is amazing and quick! I replaced the chicken broth with vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. My kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delicious! Unfortunately...used fresh baby spinach since I had no kale...and also used vidalia onion and garlic since I had no shallots....made Creole Seasoning Mix from this site.....and scaled the seasoning down to 4 servings....very nice and cant wait to try with kale next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used blanched and shocked endive instead of kale, and it was a bit too bitter. Season with Creole seasoning first and use low sodium chicken broth. Mine was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A winner that I'll definitely make again! The creole seasoning and shallot added great flavor to the quinoa and kale ~ I love Creole seasoning and spice so I doubled (and then some!) the amount. Great leftovers, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllrecipesElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. I used Roland garlic quinoa and vegetable stock instead of plain quinoa and water. This was very flavorful, I thought it would be bland but it was not. I could not find creole seasoning so I substituted Emeril's Bayou Blast. If you like flavor try my version I think you will like it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is a relatively quick and healthy side dish that goes great with anytime! I've made it twice. The first time it seemed to "need something" so I added more creole seasoning, but that was too salty. The 2nd time I made it, I added about 1/2 cup of black beans and some Old Bay Seasoning (about 1/2 teaspoon) and the regular amount of creole seasoning. Perfect! With the addition of the beans, it is very hearty and could serve as a great light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We gobbled it up! This was the first time I made quinoa for my daughters and myself, and the end result was very satisfying. I used onions in place of shallots, and next time I will use twice as much creole seasoning and no salt. The quinoa is quite filling. A bowl full of this kale and quinoa was a meal for me. Lots of health benefits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I ended up adding a tablespoon of lemon juice, half a can of chickpeas, and an extra half teaspoon of spice, but it was a delicious side/main dish even before that. My husband and I devoured the whole thing for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was pretty good! Will make again. I did add beans and some lemon juice, to brighten it up a bit and make it a meal. For those at a high altitude (we are always forgotten about when people write these recipes) the quinoa is always best cooked by increasing the liquid by a little less than 1/4 cup or so, and turning it to more like a "medium low" than a "low", when it comes time. Also, increase cooking time by a few minutes, for liquid to be adaquately absorbed. Oh, and I found it to be a bit salty as well. I would cut the salt in half and add a little more cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Two super-foods in one delicious dish!! What I did: made a full cup of quinoa but used only one bunch of kale. I doubled the seasoning (made Creole seasoning from AR) and the salt - that was a mistake! In fact, cut some of the salt - with the chicken broth, you don't need it! I felt that it was lacking some crunch... so I threw in toasted almond slivers and pine nuts - PERFECT! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States