Kale and Quinoa with Creole Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Added beans, half a green pepper and a couple tablespoons of vinegar. A really flavorful healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Filling, healthy side dish, went well with some baked cod I sprinkled with Cajun seasonings. Subbed low sodium veggie broth for the chicken broth. One note: 1t salt + 1/2t of Creole/Cajun seasoning is A LOT of sodium. We found we didn't need the salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious! I used onion instead of a shallot & added 2 tsp garlic. Great super food side for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe. Even our 4 year old daughter are it. I did sub onions for shallots. I also used a mix of olive oil and chili pepper infused oil to saute the kale. Will definitely maker this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDERR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved, loved, loved it! A keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe is very simple and extremely healthy. It makes a great light meal but I'd recommend adding chicken or using it as a side dish if you want a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Two super-foods in one delicious dish!! What I did: made a full cup of quinoa but used only one bunch of kale. I doubled the seasoning (made Creole seasoning from AR) and the salt - that was a mistake! In fact, cut some of the salt - with the chicken broth, you don't need it! I felt that it was lacking some crunch... so I threw in toasted almond slivers and pine nuts - PERFECT! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was pretty good! Will make again. I did add beans and some lemon juice, to brighten it up a bit and make it a meal. For those at a high altitude (we are always forgotten about when people write these recipes) the quinoa is always best cooked by increasing the liquid by a little less than 1/4 cup or so, and turning it to more like a "medium low" than a "low", when it comes time. Also, increase cooking time by a few minutes, for liquid to be adaquately absorbed. Oh, and I found it to be a bit salty as well. I would cut the salt in half and add a little more cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I ended up adding a tablespoon of lemon juice, half a can of chickpeas, and an extra half teaspoon of spice, but it was a delicious side/main dish even before that. My husband and I devoured the whole thing for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We gobbled it up! This was the first time I made quinoa for my daughters and myself, and the end result was very satisfying. I used onions in place of shallots, and next time I will use twice as much creole seasoning and no salt. The quinoa is quite filling. A bowl full of this kale and quinoa was a meal for me. Lots of health benefits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States