Kale and Quinoa with Creole Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This recipe is amazing and quick! I replaced the chicken broth with vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. My kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delicious! Unfortunately...used fresh baby spinach since I had no kale...and also used vidalia onion and garlic since I had no shallots....made Creole Seasoning Mix from this site.....and scaled the seasoning down to 4 servings....very nice and cant wait to try with kale next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used blanched and shocked endive instead of kale, and it was a bit too bitter. Season with Creole seasoning first and use low sodium chicken broth. Mine was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A winner that I'll definitely make again! The creole seasoning and shallot added great flavor to the quinoa and kale ~ I love Creole seasoning and spice so I doubled (and then some!) the amount. Great leftovers, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. I used Roland garlic quinoa and vegetable stock instead of plain quinoa and water. This was very flavorful, I thought it would be bland but it was not. I could not find creole seasoning so I substituted Emeril's Bayou Blast. If you like flavor try my version I think you will like it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is a relatively quick and healthy side dish that goes great with anytime! I've made it twice. The first time it seemed to "need something" so I added more creole seasoning, but that was too salty. The 2nd time I made it, I added about 1/2 cup of black beans and some Old Bay Seasoning (about 1/2 teaspoon) and the regular amount of creole seasoning. Perfect! With the addition of the beans, it is very hearty and could serve as a great light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We gobbled it up! This was the first time I made quinoa for my daughters and myself, and the end result was very satisfying. I used onions in place of shallots, and next time I will use twice as much creole seasoning and no salt. The quinoa is quite filling. A bowl full of this kale and quinoa was a meal for me. Lots of health benefits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I ended up adding a tablespoon of lemon juice, half a can of chickpeas, and an extra half teaspoon of spice, but it was a delicious side/main dish even before that. My husband and I devoured the whole thing for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was pretty good! Will make again. I did add beans and some lemon juice, to brighten it up a bit and make it a meal. For those at a high altitude (we are always forgotten about when people write these recipes) the quinoa is always best cooked by increasing the liquid by a little less than 1/4 cup or so, and turning it to more like a "medium low" than a "low", when it comes time. Also, increase cooking time by a few minutes, for liquid to be adaquately absorbed. Oh, and I found it to be a bit salty as well. I would cut the salt in half and add a little more cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Two super-foods in one delicious dish!! What I did: made a full cup of quinoa but used only one bunch of kale. I doubled the seasoning (made Creole seasoning from AR) and the salt - that was a mistake! In fact, cut some of the salt - with the chicken broth, you don't need it! I felt that it was lacking some crunch... so I threw in toasted almond slivers and pine nuts - PERFECT! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States