Kale and Quinoa with Creole Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Added beans, half a green pepper and a couple tablespoons of vinegar. A really flavorful healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Filling, healthy side dish, went well with some baked cod I sprinkled with Cajun seasonings. Subbed low sodium veggie broth for the chicken broth. One note: 1t salt + 1/2t of Creole/Cajun seasoning is A LOT of sodium. We found we didn't need the salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious! I used onion instead of a shallot & added 2 tsp garlic. Great super food side for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe. Even our 4 year old daughter are it. I did sub onions for shallots. I also used a mix of olive oil and chili pepper infused oil to saute the kale. Will definitely maker this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDERR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved, loved, loved it! A keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe is very simple and extremely healthy. It makes a great light meal but I'd recommend adding chicken or using it as a side dish if you want a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Two super-foods in one delicious dish!! What I did: made a full cup of quinoa but used only one bunch of kale. I doubled the seasoning (made Creole seasoning from AR) and the salt - that was a mistake! In fact, cut some of the salt - with the chicken broth, you don't need it! I felt that it was lacking some crunch... so I threw in toasted almond slivers and pine nuts - PERFECT! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was pretty good! Will make again. I did add beans and some lemon juice, to brighten it up a bit and make it a meal. For those at a high altitude (we are always forgotten about when people write these recipes) the quinoa is always best cooked by increasing the liquid by a little less than 1/4 cup or so, and turning it to more like a "medium low" than a "low", when it comes time. Also, increase cooking time by a few minutes, for liquid to be adaquately absorbed. Oh, and I found it to be a bit salty as well. I would cut the salt in half and add a little more cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I ended up adding a tablespoon of lemon juice, half a can of chickpeas, and an extra half teaspoon of spice, but it was a delicious side/main dish even before that. My husband and I devoured the whole thing for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We gobbled it up! This was the first time I made quinoa for my daughters and myself, and the end result was very satisfying. I used onions in place of shallots, and next time I will use twice as much creole seasoning and no salt. The quinoa is quite filling. A bowl full of this kale and quinoa was a meal for me. Lots of health benefits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States