Kale and Quinoa with Creole Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I added a clove of garlic and doubled the seasoning and still thought it was bland. I'd recommend tripling the seasoning and added some red peppers or something else to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious! I added shrimp, a little garlic, used vegetable broth and omitted the salt. The only problem... we enjoyed it so much that there wasn't enough! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was absolutely amazing! This was my first time having quinoa. I didn't have shallots so I substituted with scallions... wonderful flavor. I made this with Pork tenderloin and mango salsa. Such amazing flavors combined. A winner in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Holy salt overload...I love salt and it was too salty even for me. I would cut the salt at least in half next time, other than that, it was delicious and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was a great recipe that the kids loved and gobbled right up! I always love recipes that are healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this as directed, except I added some minced garlic to the pan to saute for about a minute just before adding the blanched kale. I thought it was just okay that night, but the leftovers over the next two days were delicious! (I made a double batch and ate the leftovers for lunches.) This is one of those recipes that tasted better the next day. My family didn't love it the first night, either, and none were interested in the leftovers (their loss, my gain.) I'd give it a 3.5. I'd rate it higher if the rest of my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Good recipe. We had fresh kale from the garden so I didn't do the blanching step, which was a nice time saver. I didn't have onion so just sautéed the kale in garlic and coconut oil, which adds another level of flavor to greens. I think onions would have been a nice addition. I also didn't have creole seasoning and after a little research ended up using cajun seasoning with some extra basil, thyme and oregano, which tasted good. Added some almonds as some other reviewers suggested but probably would not do that next time since it didn't seem to add much for us, but left it on the stove due to some timing issues so the nuts didn't add the crunch factor others mentioned, so that could be it. Wanted to add the lemon others suggested, but also didn't have any (hmmm, looks like we have a theme developing!); so I added a splash or two of white wine vinegar to give it a little zip. That was good, but I still think lemon would be better. Will definitely try again when I have lemons and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Very good recipe. I used a bunch of swiss chard from my garden instead of kale and didn't blanch them ,just stir fried them With the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This was very good, but WAY too salty!!! I used the full amount of salt and Creole seasoning (same brand as recommended), but it was just about too salty to even eat. Unfortunately, I didn't notice until after I added all the salt that "Tony Chachere's" Creole seasoning has salt in it and they say to use it like salt! I will make this recipe, again, but will eliminate the plain salt altogether and just use the seasoning. I did add some toasted pine nuts to the mix, as well, and it was a tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Added beans, half a green pepper and a couple tablespoons of vinegar. A really flavorful healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States