Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Kale was a bit bitter, may try lightly sauteing next go around. That being said, it was heavenly. We used dried cranberries as we already had those in the pantry. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
great! Steamed my kale in microwave for 3 min then put everything together. Used currants and raisins that I soaked in hot water then drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Wow, yummy! I read some reviews before I made it, and decided to "massage" the kale, and put it together with warm quinoa. I didn't think I'd like raw kale, so the idea of wilting it somewhat sounded appealing. So I massaged the dressing into the kale, then poured the warm quinoa over it and mixed it up, adding the other ingredients as well. I had dried cherries so that's what I used instead of currants. It turned out amazing, and I bet the leftovers will be even better after it sits in the fridge a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made some changes based on what I had on hand. Used spinach, fresh mozzarella and parmesan instead of feta, raisins instead of currants, walnuts for pecans, and whole seed mustard plus dry mustard in the dressing. I also tossed the quinoa in the salad warm to wilt the leaves a bit. Small substitutions, but every bit was eaten, plus seconds, including by my 5, 3, and 1 year olds. Will definitely make again and again for a nutritious summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delicious! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I significantly decreased the amount of nuts and raisins and topped with bit of feta cheese. Tried it before with parmesean and was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Made it this evening, everyone loved it! Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I was really surprised with this salad. This was my first Kale salad and I really enjoyed it. I added red wine vinegar and substituted the pecans with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This is now my default salad, when I have guests coming, or when I am heading to a potluck. Here's my shortcut version: Kale, quinoa, feta, and bottled Greek salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by englishjewel
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I love, love, love this salad, it was very filling. This salad would be great for a lunch or dinner meal. I made a few changes to the original recipe, based on some of the reviews. I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth, used spicy brown mustard and added balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper to taste to the dressing. I also let the salad chill for a few hours. Thank you Kicius for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My husband hasn't really cared for kale or quinoa, but loved this recipe, as did the rest of the family. Served with halibut and provided a very nice, complimentary flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States