Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
great salad! perfect combination of tastes with the lemon, garlic, and currant. will definetly be making this a lot this summer with all the kale in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I chopped the kale in small pieces using a food processor. My family does not like feta cheese, so I omitted it. Also, I substituted the currants for dried pitted tart montmorency cherries from Trader Joe's. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbellingham
Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Yum! I subbed almonds that I toasted in olive oil for the pecans. Will be adding to my regular rotation for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've never eaten kale and quinoa together,, yummy,, and the dressing is pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Mmm, mmm. This is one of those recipes that sounds like it's good, then surprises you by being awesome. The mix of flavors and textures is wonderful, and it is very filling so makes a good meal in itself. I followed reviewers advice and massaged the dressing into the kale, and added the quinoa while it was still warm. Then let it chill before adding toasted pecans, golden raisins, and feta. Oh, and I used dragon kale sliced into ribbons. I think one could easily double the kale and keep the rest of the ingredients the same...there are enough "toppings" to go around. I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks Kicius for a healthy, delish, new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I took the advice to massage the kale. Also changed recipe by making vinagarette as part of the 2 cups of liquid to cook quinoa. Quinoa absorbs flavors very well but can be bland when cooked with no seasonings. Also added a whole head of kale and made another batch of the vinagarette for that. My 6 year old loved this salad and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
What a delicious powerhouse of nutrition salad! Wonderful combination of ingredients and flavors. The Dijon mustard and lemon makes the dressing 'pop' with bright flavor, the saltiness from the Feta, the surprise bite of sweet from a plump moist raisin (I used raisins instead of currants as I find currants to be dry), the nutty tones from the Pecan and Quinoa ... Not a thing needs to be changed. I used baby Kale greens and used my judgment regarding the quantity of individual ingredients used for an individual size salad and fell in love; will be eating it a lot. It's important to use quality Kale as old and bigger leafed Kale can be bitter and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
it's healthy - a powerhouse in fact... however, it's just not good. Strange combinations of texture, and not particularly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I liked but didn't love this recipe. Not sure why it didn't end up as a "love" recipe as it has lots of my favorite ingredients - kale, quinoa, feta. I massaged the kale with salt to soften it (then rinsed kale to wash off the salt). Still a good and healthy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Kale was a bit bitter, may try lightly sauteing next go around. That being said, it was heavenly. We used dried cranberries as we already had those in the pantry. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States