Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Wow, this is by far the best salad I've ever made! Kale and quinoa are two daunting ingredients and although both are thoroughly nutritious, I've steered clear of them due to not having the confidence to prepare them well. This was my first stab at using both kale and quinoa and the salad turned out amazingly well, and healthy to boot! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I couldn't find dried currants at the local grocery store. Instead, I used Mariani dried tart cherries (they add sugar to them). One tip for prepping the kale: cut out the middle stalk on each leaf and discard before shredding the lettuce. The stalk is pretty tough and doesn't go well in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I discovered this recipe last summer and get rave reviews whenever I make it. I do double the dressing because it didn't seem to have much flavor before I did that. I also put the hot quinoa on the kale to wilt it a little as others have suggested. This is just so good! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Yum! I did make a couple substitutions, due to what was on hand: red wine vinegar as I was out of lemons, some raisins in lieu of currants, and I'm not a pecan fan so I used pistachios. One thing I will try next time (and there will be a next time!) is adding a little honey to the dressing, as I think it could use a little more sweetness to counter the salty feta. All around, a solid base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Jacobs
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Really like this recipe, particularly since I have been making lifestyle changes and ate quinoa for the first time with nothing on it. Hated it. I dared to order the quinoa and kale salad at Zupas but their dressing was high on vinegar. I've since ordered it again and it was perfect so it was just that batch. So I wanted to duplicate it. This comes very close. I've added my own twists to it but it's great just the way it is. For a slightly different taste, I added baby sweet corn, a couple of sweet small, sweet peppers, and a sweeter vinegarette. You might see the pattern here. Have a sweet tooth. Also added cilantro. So, it's great the way it is. But it's also great with a little sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Wow! I loved this - pretty much made as is, with kale from the garden, massaging the kale a little with dressing prior to adding other ingredients. Light, good flavors & feels like such a healthy thing to eat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Slivered almond and dried cranberries instead plus shredded carrot and added honey to the dressing. Yum! Oh, and no feta. I guess I basically made a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Fantastic base recipe. I love to alter the 'extras'. You can change the lemon juice out for vinegars and then add whatever you'd like! Today's stars asparagus and red peppers, but you can basically put anything in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
One of my new go to recipes. The store was out of currents so I used dried blue berries instead, which I actually preferred. I massaged the kale as one other member suggested. That was a great tip! As for it being "blah", feel free to adjust the mustard and lemon to your liking, and cook the quinoa using vegetable or chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I used fresh kale from the garden, however, next time I will use more kale than what is listed on this recipe. The salad was more quinoa than kale, and I would prefer it with more kale than quinoa. The salad dressing was not the greatest. I added some white balsamic vinegar and that seemed to make it taste better. I liked the Best Greek Quinoa Salad, Quinoa & Black Bean, and Mediterranean Quinoa Salad recipes on this website better than this one. TIPS: From what I read on the other recipes, it's best to rinse water over the quinoa before cooking. I also set aside the stalks and ribs of the kale for my morning green drink and only use the leafy tender part in salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is a GREAT base recipe. The dressing is light so for those who want a heavy dressing - perhaps you'll want to spice it up but our family prefers the "touch" of flavor. Do salt and pepper to taste as I found the salt to be a bit much but taste it by dipping a leaf or two of kale; off the spoon it's VERY salty but with the kale it goes perfectly. I preferred about 1/2 the amount the salt and 1/4 the amount of pepper as the dijon is already peppery. The garlic was way too overpowering for me. 1/4 the amount as well, if at all. I actually preferred it with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startingtradition
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States