Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is a delicious salad! I made it with spinach, and added the warm quinoa to wilt the spinach a bit. Rather than currents, I added craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This recipe makes a wonderful salad. I made the recipe exactly as written. It is perfect and absolutely delicious. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Cartwright Cawthra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I steamed the kale (trader joes organic in a bag) in 1/4 C of chicken broth for 1 min. and used leftover quinoa. This salad was so good. I Did not have any cheese, probably would not have added it even if I did- ruins the nutritional benefit for my diet, and we did not miss it. Both DH and Teen Son declared it a winner and so the 5 stars. Thanks kicius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Very good! Great, light, healthy salad. The feta is perfect in this dish. Also love the dressing - I've started using this in other salad recipes also. Only weird thing is the currants. Texture compliments the salad, but the flavor of currants are a little weird to me. Tried subbing with raisins but not quite right either. I think craisins would overpower it though. Didnt get a lot out of the pecans. Could make without them and wouldn't miss much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a great salad the next day. I cooked the quinoa in chicken stock, left out the mustard and used raisins instead of currants and pine nuts instead of the pecans. Poured the hot quinoa over the kale to wilt some. Same day it was good but not great. That evening I took the leftovers and added about 3 T. red wine vinegar and 1 T. seasoned rice vinegar and tossed good to coat. Had it just now for lunch the day after and it was really, really good. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Really really good. We didn't have lemon juice so we just added a little more olive oil and mustard. Mixed in the quinoa while it was still a little warm, but waited to put the dressing on until just before we ate it.....the only problem was trying to not eat the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Love it! Followed the recipe to the letter. A healthy tasty way to make kale, and a nice refreshing "different" salad to take to an event. From the reviews, I would also echo the need to shred the kale really tiny or its too chewy. I also rubbed the dressing in with my hands after I warmed it up a little to help wilt the kale. If I were to make it for myself and not for a group, I would significantly reduce the quinoa (just adds extra carbs I don't need and it makes it more of a quinoa base not a kale base. I prefer to get my protein from a meat source, not a grain), add more garlic, and skip the currants/raisins as its my preference. However, since I hate it when people rate the recipe and then list all the ways they changed it...I still give it a 5 according to its original instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
so good! i also cooked the quinoa in chicken stock, wilted the kale in the quinoa right after turning off the heat, and used a bell pepper instead of currants (mainly because i can never remember to buy currants but always seem to have a lonely bell pepper in the veggie drawer). it's yummy and i feel so healthy eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Hubby and I loved this salad. My kids still won't eat kale, but I consider it a huge success when there is a recipe that makes it good enough for my husband. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I didn't have pecans, so I used walnuts, and it still worked just fine. I loved this healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States