Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Hubby and I loved this salad. My kids still won't eat kale, but I consider it a huge success when there is a recipe that makes it good enough for my husband. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I didn't have pecans, so I used walnuts, and it still worked just fine. I loved this healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
No Flavor. Followed recipe to the letter. Recipes should be able to stand on their own. Couldn't even tweak it, because no one wanted to bother with it after the first few tries. We ended up ordering a pizza. I would give it less than one star if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was so wonderful and quick! I used bagged organic kale from Trader Joes (one bag was a perfect amount). I made the dressing and then massaged it into the kale for a minute and then added the quinoa while it was warm which further softened the kale. Once cool, the cheese, raisins and nuts went in. I make a different kale salad all the time, but this has just become my favorite. With the addition of quinoa, it is a nutrition powerhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I really loved this recipe as I've been wanting to cook more with kale and quinoa for better health. :) I happened to have some frozen quinoa, so I just microwaved that, and added the kale to that to help it wilt. I had to make some substitutions with what I had on hand: I used parmesan reggiano, walnuts, and dried cranberries. This will be a go-to recipe for a super-quick, filling, tasty and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, and my family loved it. Even my husband who claims he won't eat kale didn't complain. I add what I have on hand, so I substituted walnuts and dried cranberries. I also wilted the kale with the hot quinoa, as others have suggested. Kale is a super food and I eat it as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I skipped the currants b/c I don't like fruit in my salad and I substituted pine nuts for pecans and garlic vinegar for balsamic. I took it to a pot luck and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I steamed the kale for 45 seconds to reduce its bitterness and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was fabulous! Like others, I added the quinoa while still warm - just barely wilts the kale a bit, which I prefer. I toasted the pecans, added one chopped scallion and used raisins instead of currants. I also probably doubled the lemon juice - I just kind of winged the dressing a bit. Great recipe! Flavors contrast each other perfectly - sweet, salty, tart, nutty. Very healthy and delicious! Can't wait to experiment by using different nuts or seeds and other dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Nice recipe. A nutritional powerhouse! but...Why would you not massage the kale? Massaged kale salads are everywhere. After cutting into ribbons, add 1tsp. sea salt. Massage for 2 min. It will become silky, shiny and very pliable. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States