Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made some changes based on what I had on hand. Used spinach, fresh mozzarella and parmesan instead of feta, raisins instead of currants, walnuts for pecans, and whole seed mustard plus dry mustard in the dressing. I also tossed the quinoa in the salad warm to wilt the leaves a bit. Small substitutions, but every bit was eaten, plus seconds, including by my 5, 3, and 1 year olds. Will definitely make again and again for a nutritious summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delicious! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I significantly decreased the amount of nuts and raisins and topped with bit of feta cheese. Tried it before with parmesean and was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Made it this evening, everyone loved it! Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sweany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I was really surprised with this salad. This was my first Kale salad and I really enjoyed it. I added red wine vinegar and substituted the pecans with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This is now my default salad, when I have guests coming, or when I am heading to a potluck. Here's my shortcut version: Kale, quinoa, feta, and bottled Greek salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by englishjewel
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I love, love, love this salad, it was very filling. This salad would be great for a lunch or dinner meal. I made a few changes to the original recipe, based on some of the reviews. I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth, used spicy brown mustard and added balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper to taste to the dressing. I also let the salad chill for a few hours. Thank you Kicius for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My husband hasn't really cared for kale or quinoa, but loved this recipe, as did the rest of the family. Served with halibut and provided a very nice, complimentary flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious and nutritious! Washed and ready baby kale is now available, making this recipe very easy. I substituted golden raisins for the currants and grated fresh Parmesan cheese for the feta. The lemony dressing and the pecans are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow! Made this for dinner tonight and it is a winner! This was first time I have fixed kale, other than making kale chips. I was rather unsure how it would taste, it smelled really strong when I was tearing it into pieces. The reviews were so good I had to try. I'm so glad I did.. Only thing I changed was I put in dried tart cherries (didn't have currants). This is a keeper and best of all leftovers for our lunches. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This salad is amazing! I followed the recipe to the letter, except I cooked the quinoa in chicken bouillon. I removed the rib from the kale and cut the kale into thin ribbons. I mixed the dressing exactly, then tossed the kale, dressing and quinoa together while the quinoa was still hot, in order to wilt the kale. Amazing! After it cooled I added dried cranberries and salted sunflower seeds, and feta cheese. This is so good! My daughter, who wanted me to set aside some cooked quinoa for her to make a different dish, took one taste and asked me to add the extra quinoa to more kale (essentially making another salad exactly the same) so we would have it for a few days! Sooo good, and good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States