Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I edited it a little bit. I cut out the pepper, salt, garlic, pecans and currants. Instead of those ingredients I used blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. Then, I substituted the regular Dijon mustard for honey Dijon. Mixed it all up and viola! The perfect, healthy summertime salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I gave this 4 stars because I subbed some of the ingredients for what I had on hand. Dried cranberries instead of currants, walnuts instead of pecans and shredded parmesan cause I don't like feta. I did massage the dressing into the kale and added quinoa while it was still warm. Also added a splash of rice wine vinegar. I liked it so much that I ate it every day for 5 days. Even had it for breakfast a couple of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Really good! I add much more kale and double the dressing for more greens but it is good as the recipe states too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I wanted to make this Salad but did not all the ingredients so I substituted Cashews for the Pecans, Craisins for the Currants, Gorgonzola for the Feta and a Whole Grain Garlic Mustard for the Dijon Mustard and it was Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
What a tasty healthy salad! It seems the trick with kale is to cut it in thin ribbons, remove the woody white stalk first by just pulling the green leafy part off. I loved the idea of massaging it with sea salt, it turns it a lovely shiny green colour and softens it. The odour is a little off putting, a bit like alfalfa or mowed grass ( a nice enough smell...but to eat???). Anyway after the massage I put the dressing on and let it marinade for a bit then added the quinoa while it was still warm. I left off the feta as a matter of preference and used pumpkin and sunflower seeds (toasted in a frying pan first) instead of pecans. I think fresh fruit such as peach, orange or apple could be used instead of currants. A great recipe that I will use often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was great! I omitted the cheese and added chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I can't believe how good this salad is. I used black kale, and didn't have dijon, so I used honey mustard instead. It is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
great salad! perfect combination of tastes with the lemon, garlic, and currant. will definetly be making this a lot this summer with all the kale in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I chopped the kale in small pieces using a food processor. My family does not like feta cheese, so I omitted it. Also, I substituted the currants for dried pitted tart montmorency cherries from Trader Joe's. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbellingham
Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Yum! I subbed almonds that I toasted in olive oil for the pecans. Will be adding to my regular rotation for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States