Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, and my family loved it. Even my husband who claims he won't eat kale didn't complain. I add what I have on hand, so I substituted walnuts and dried cranberries. I also wilted the kale with the hot quinoa, as others have suggested. Kale is a super food and I eat it as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I skipped the currants b/c I don't like fruit in my salad and I substituted pine nuts for pecans and garlic vinegar for balsamic. I took it to a pot luck and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I steamed the kale for 45 seconds to reduce its bitterness and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was fabulous! Like others, I added the quinoa while still warm - just barely wilts the kale a bit, which I prefer. I toasted the pecans, added one chopped scallion and used raisins instead of currants. I also probably doubled the lemon juice - I just kind of winged the dressing a bit. Great recipe! Flavors contrast each other perfectly - sweet, salty, tart, nutty. Very healthy and delicious! Can't wait to experiment by using different nuts or seeds and other dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Nice recipe. A nutritional powerhouse! but...Why would you not massage the kale? Massaged kale salads are everywhere. After cutting into ribbons, add 1tsp. sea salt. Massage for 2 min. It will become silky, shiny and very pliable. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This dish was amazing - sweet, slightly bitter, crunchy and creamy. Not to mention so good for you. The quinoa pops in your mouth. LOVED IT. Ate it for breakfast the next AM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is so funny. I just made Quinoa for the first time and I made it almost identical to this one. I didn't think about the currants but I have some in my freezer so I will throw them in. I used pine nuts instead of pecans. Goat cheeses instead of feta. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
We loved this recipe. I have made it a couple of times now. We had to use bulgar wheat because I was out of quinoa. I also added it in warm. It helps with lessening the chewiness of the kale. One time we threw in dried cranberries instead of the currants and no feta because we were trying to cut a few after Christmas calories. All versions were delicious. The dressing is key to the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
It is healthy, but blah taste added white balsamic vinegar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Unbelievably delicious! New SuperFood staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States