Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe! Nutritious, delicious and an easy lunch in the office. It's now in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is my first review after several years of using Allrecipes. I had to review because I just love this salad. It's a great way to use raw kale other than smoothies. I've made this recipe several times with the only changes are using toasted almonds and dried cranberries- because that's what I had on hand. The dressing is amazing, it taste light and refreshing. And I followed advice of other reviews and tossed the salad well in the dressing, using my hands to toss and make sure everything is coated well and then putting the cooked quinoa over and toss again to wilt it just a bit. I could eat the whole thing myself! Thanks Kicius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LS
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
So delish! Love how the freshly squeezed lemon juice brings out the lemony flavor of kale. Well balanced sour, sweet, salt with the neutral quinoa. Happened to have all the ingredients on hand from the farmers market the 1st time, including Bulgarian feta. The 2nd time I intended to supplement with feta from the grocery store. For those who don't like feta & have only tried plastic tub packaged Wisconsin feta, I can understand your distaste. It was like powder coated rubber erasers. I was shocked at the difference in texture & flavor. I will make a special trip to the cheese store tomorrow to buy fresh Bulgarian feta. It was 1/3 the cost of Greek or Italian feta. Quality ingredients make ALLLL the difference. Also, I chopped the kale really finely, first in ribbons then cut across the other way (like dicing). I found the stems are even tasty chopped finely & provide extra crunch. Didn't experience chewiness or bitterness at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! It is simply delicious ! I didn't have currants ,so I substituted with dried cranberries. I will make it with currants next time. Although I'm sure it would be good with any dried fruit! What a nice ,healthy mix of ingredients. It is very difficult to get my husband to eat anything green but he liked this very much! Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delish, easy to prepare and very healthy. Used golden raisins and they were great. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. If you're wanting a great salad for a meal and a great way to eat more kale, this is for you! I have substituted toasted pine nuts for the pecans and cranberries for the currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Larned, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I had some nice organic kale and went to make this salad when lo and behold! I was out of quinoa! I searched my shelves and decided to make it with Thai purple rice instead and an extra garlic clove- FABULOUS and gorgeous at the same time. I'm sure it's also divine with quinoa - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was much better than I even expected! I did modify it, but only a bit. I did not add nuts because I do not like them. Also, I didn't add the oil because I was out and it turned out not to need it! I only added about half the amount of dried cranberries (all I had) and chopped the kale to throw in with everything else. Also added some finely chopped red onion and diced avocado. It was WONDERFUL! Tasted even better the next day. I like to keep it in the fridge for lunch and it stays good for about 5-6 days. Healthy and yummy. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chihuahualover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Very enjoyable superfood salad. Great flavours and texture. Like other reviewers, I added the hot quinoa to the kale to wilt it slightly. I used almonds slivers and cranberries instead of pecans and currants, and threw in some diced avocado. Creative and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was my first time using Kale. I have fixed quinoa before but my family didn't like it. Last night; they loved it! I bought the Kale from BJ's and it was already cleaned, cut and the spine removed. I wilted the Kale in a steamer basket, cooled it, and then added the dressing and the quinoa. I didn't let the quinoa cool, which really melted the kale. I know that the kale was not supposed to be that wilted, but it was delicious. I used walnuts as I didn't have pecans, and it was great. Had the leftovers for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capcomp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States