Kale and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Fantastic base recipe. I love to alter the 'extras'. You can change the lemon juice out for vinegars and then add whatever you'd like! Today's stars asparagus and red peppers, but you can basically put anything in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
One of my new go to recipes. The store was out of currents so I used dried blue berries instead, which I actually preferred. I massaged the kale as one other member suggested. That was a great tip! As for it being "blah", feel free to adjust the mustard and lemon to your liking, and cook the quinoa using vegetable or chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I used fresh kale from the garden, however, next time I will use more kale than what is listed on this recipe. The salad was more quinoa than kale, and I would prefer it with more kale than quinoa. The salad dressing was not the greatest. I added some white balsamic vinegar and that seemed to make it taste better. I liked the Best Greek Quinoa Salad, Quinoa & Black Bean, and Mediterranean Quinoa Salad recipes on this website better than this one. TIPS: From what I read on the other recipes, it's best to rinse water over the quinoa before cooking. I also set aside the stalks and ribs of the kale for my morning green drink and only use the leafy tender part in salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is a GREAT base recipe. The dressing is light so for those who want a heavy dressing - perhaps you'll want to spice it up but our family prefers the "touch" of flavor. Do salt and pepper to taste as I found the salt to be a bit much but taste it by dipping a leaf or two of kale; off the spoon it's VERY salty but with the kale it goes perfectly. I preferred about 1/2 the amount the salt and 1/4 the amount of pepper as the dijon is already peppery. The garlic was way too overpowering for me. 1/4 the amount as well, if at all. I actually preferred it with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startingtradition
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by harleenkg
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
So delish! I used cous cous instead of quinoa bc that's what I had. Also I used baby kale and massaged it to make it easier to eat. Finally, I used parmesan instead of feta because I wanted something less sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I can't believe how good this is!! I left out nuts and used chickpeas and left out the feta and sprinkled some in parm. Massaged the dressing into the kale and added the quinoa (cooked with onions and garlic) when it was hot. I could eat this salad all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Tastes even better the next day! I thought it was a lot of pepper to put in but it gives a nice kick to the salad. I also swapped the pecans for toasted walnuts and half the currants for freshly cut apple pieces. So so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is very good. I put some salt in the kale and massage it until silky. Mixed in the quinoa, and dressed with a balsamic vinaigrette (because that is what I had in the kitchen). Really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Moreno
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have made it every time without the fruit & nuts because I don't like them & this is still an amazing & favorite salad!!! Tonight I made it with goat cheese for my aunt with a dairy allergy & it adds an awesome twist to the flavor!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Moreno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sergio
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
great and easy recipe. for a twist, i recommend adding some grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States